th 350 troubles - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 06:32 PM
gab's Avatar
gab gab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Meredosia, Il
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
th 350 troubles

i installed an edelbrock 1405 w/ electric choke on a 2101 performer manifold in my sons 84 chevy truck (305)
runs great however the trans doesnt shift unless done manually on a soft take off. at wot it will shift.
it was fine before. vacuum is hooked up to manifold and kickdown cable is attached. i have tried to set the kickdown cable and it has made no difference in this soft take off. we also took off all emissions and ac that wasnt used. there is an electtrical connection on trans near the speedo cable this is not hooked up? should it be? and to where?

any help would be apprecited thx
Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 07:07 PM
WakBordr7387's Avatar
Gone fishin'
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners
Last journal entry: blah.......again
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas Coast
Age: 29
Posts: 667
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have an 86' about like your truck, I too had that same problem when I put a similar setup like yours on my old 305 before the old engine died. On mine there was a vacuum line that went from the front of the carb and ran all the way to the back of the transmission on the passenger side. I'm not exactlly sure what it does but there are 2 vacuum holes on the front of the carb it will work on, the one on the left is for emissions and the one on the right for no emissions. If this isn't the problem then someone else on this board should be able to help more than I can.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 07:12 PM
gab's Avatar
gab gab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Meredosia, Il
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i have the vacuum line attached to manifold at its fitting like it was originally and i do have vacuum at that source
thx for reply
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 08:31 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,980
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 257
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
Cool

have you verified good vacuum at the modulator?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 08:35 PM
gab's Avatar
gab gab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Meredosia, Il
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i did verify it at manifold and made sure line was clear
can i pull line off at valve to check then?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 08:50 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,980
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 257
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by gab
i did verify it at manifold and made sure line was clear
can i pull line off at valve to check then?

I recieved an email about this same question. I believe the email came from you at this board

I will ask you for the third time,

did you verify there was good vacuum at the modulator? IS the hose on the modulator? Is the hose bad / cracked at the modulator?

If you pull the vacuum hose off the modulator and oil comes out where the hose attaches, the modulator is bad.

these items need to be checked
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-13-2005, 09:05 PM
gab's Avatar
gab gab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Meredosia, Il
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes there is vacuum at the modulator i just checked it hose is good also no leaks and modulator is dry no oil or fluids coming from it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-15-2005, 09:32 PM
tnsmith10's Avatar
when will it rain???
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: where its very dry and dusty
Age: 43
Posts: 1,297
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
check the govenor... since it seems that u have vacuum down at the modulator and it dont shift... sounds like it has a broken gear on it., or its loaded with trash and stuck... if thats ok, then it may have internal issues. that electrical connector that u found is for the torque converter lockup switch. in an 84 chevy truck, if it didnt have a overdrive then the lockup 350 that u have is possibly the origional unit... if so, then there should be a connector that plugs in to that connector u found somewhere around the bellhousing area.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-17-2005, 09:14 AM
gab's Avatar
gab gab is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Meredosia, Il
Posts: 5
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
problem solved
for some reason even though vacuum was present at the modulator from the manifold the trans still didnt shift
a switch to vacuum port on carb took care of it but not sure why
vacuum seemed same
any way thx to all you guys for your help
Gab
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.