th 400 ? output shaft - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2005, 01:17 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.y.
Posts: 48
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
th 400 ? output shaft

have a van trans with a bolt on yoke need to install a slip yoke is this possible without internal work

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2005, 08:54 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,063
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 317
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54chevrat
have a van trans with a bolt on yoke need to install a slip yoke is this possible without internal work

yes,

short style slip yoke fits onto all the shaft splines.

It is best to pull the tail housing off to see how / where the slip yoke hits the groove on the output shaft where an O-ring fits for the bolt on yoke...

simple , simple , deal
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-27-2005, 10:33 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: N.y.
Posts: 48
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ok cool thanks 1 more ? the down shift wiring i think where would that get powered from th400 are new to me i ran a glide or a stick so any help would be great thanks ken
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-28-2005, 09:09 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,063
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 317
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 54chevrat
ok cool thanks 1 more ? the down shift wiring i think where would that get powered from th400 are new to me i ran a glide or a stick so any help would be great thanks ken

12 volts is needed for down shift hook up.

Factory used a switch at the carb in early years , then a switch at the gas pedal on inside of the firewall in later years.

The switches were a sliding type that could activate at about 3/4 throttle and still allow full throttle ... un like a simple on/off push button switch.

Some guys have used an older motorcycle stop light switch with a spring on it , hooked to the carb.

You can drive the vehicle/ t-400 tranny fine with the power unhooked.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-29-2005, 06:44 AM
M&M CUSTOM's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Transmission identification
Last journal entry: 1988 Suburban, the project continues.
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Northwest Pennsylvania.
Age: 42
Posts: 2,230
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Like Crosley stated, along with the later fuel injected engines using the ECM to activate the circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tubro 400 tailshaft &drive shaft Problem MAD BOWTIE Transmission - Rearend 11 06-19-2005 11:51 PM
727 output shaft spline fat50 Transmission - Rearend 4 10-05-2004 06:49 AM
transmission 700r4 output shaft slop catscan4free Transmission - Rearend 3 01-25-2004 08:11 AM
AOD REAR OUTPUT shaft, buSHING buckhorn Transmission - Rearend 5 10-26-2003 10:00 PM
output shaft to slip yoke vader Transmission - Rearend 1 03-28-2002 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.