TH350 2400 Stall Questions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-09-2010, 04:51 PM
Bonger

Wiki Edits: 0

TH350 2400 Stall Questions

Hey there,

I have a rebuilt TH350 mated up to a street 355 right now that I'm having some questions about in relation to my shift pattern and also my converter......

REBUILT TH350, Stage II shift kit, 2400 High stall converter

1.) SHIFTING: I'm no expert in dealing with the TH350 or TH400 with the exception of wrecking a ton of them out of old cars......but so far as I know is the shifting patter (RPM) strictly regulated by the modulator or a combination of factors???
The reason I ask is that mine seems to shift early, or so it seems to me. I have a 3.73 rear end but I can be cruising in third at less than 20MPH.......maybe less than that. I know that first maybe lasts a few feet and second not much more unless I have it locked in manually.
I'd really like to have it stay in the gears longer and I know there are adjustable modulators out there...........would that solve it? Or maybe my current modulator is shot as it wasn't brand new.

2.) CONVERTER: Once again, no expert, but I'm under the knowledge that my 2400 stall converter should not allow for a lock-up until that RPM (or close at least) with my foot depressed on the brake (power brakes)????
----- Because right now if I mat the brakes and try to get my engine speed up before launch it'll start cranking the tires WAY before 2400.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-09-2010, 06:50 PM

Well I'll wack away at #1