Hot Rod Forum banner

th350, no 1st gear!!

25K views 19 replies 11 participants last post by  mike 96 ws6 
#1 ·
im new to this page but im trying to figure out a problem that iv been having. i have a 78 camaro 350/350. the trans. was rebuilt a little over a year ago (less then 8000mi) i took out to track ran a few laps and after that i slowly lost 1st gear. my engine is a big low end tourqe machine. but it has always shifted a little hard but nothing to worrie me. at the begining 1st would shift late same with 2nd. now (2weeks later) i have no 1st gear unless shifted out of N,P or R. it wont down shift at a stop. but now 2nd is shifting fine again just no 1st except for initial shift. please give me as many pointers as possible and hopfully this trans is still good. thanks alot....

#2 · (Edited)
Should-a gone with a 200-4R :thumbup:

On a more serious note, unless you build up a TH350 to take the abuse, TH350s in stock form are very weak. Alot of people will disagree, but it's true, they just can't take the abuse and start slipping after awhile. There and more than enough pages out there that tell you the weak points for the TH350s and how to fix or get around them.

I also know of three different versions of the TH350s, 1: some that came behind v-6's were missing a few clutch plates among other parts to save money, 2: A normal TH350 that went with most 305s and 350s from the factory, 3: the TH350C, the lock-up version of the 350. Which one do you have? I am also no expect on the TH350, far from it. I have never had any luck with the 350 trans in endurance, or reliability.

This also needs to go in the transmission section.

#5 ·
sway said:
200- 4r is for a 6 cly engine .
Nah!!! They came behind a few V-8's in their day.
Olds 350 Diesel, Olds 307, Chevy 305, Maybe even the Pontiac 301- too.

If the TH-350 was so weak, why was it put behind so many different engines in so many different cars and trucks, and for so many years.