Hot Rod Forum banner

T-350 Problem

1K views 13 replies 3 participants last post by  fcompoccio 
#1 ·
I put a used 350 tranny in my 66 impala with a 400 SBC engine. When I installed it 7 years I put in a new convertor, filter and fluid. The tranny shifts fine it may need an adjustment because I feel it shifts too quickly but this is not the problem. I only have 4,000 miles since I restored this car.

When I deaccelerate it lugs like a standard tranny like its still in 2nd gear. If I manually downshift it downshifts and I can do that for the two gears.

When I drive it I can kick down also. (it is cable kickdown). It lugs and I feel this is causing an overheating problem and using a lot of gas. It's tri-power so it's only using a 2 barrel carb normally.

I used to build some trannys when I was a pro-mechanic but that's over 30 years ago so I still understand some things.

Any suggestions before I talk to a tranny shop.

Thanks
Frank

#7 ·
fcompoccio said:
I'm going to explain it again; Please forget the shift points and forget overheating. It's a lugging problem. Shift points and overheating have nothing to do with the lugging.

yes they do... excessive heat and lugging can be caused by a faulty torque converter internal roller clutch. Often refered to as a sprag in the converter.

If the sprag inside the converter locks up (fails) , the trans lugs the engine and builds heat quicker

#8 ·
Ok guys for you that don't understand what lugging is:

Engine lugging is an automotive term used to describe what happens when the engine is used to slow down the vehicle. Used alot by truck drivers travelling down hill to help slow the truck without cooking the brakes causing severe piston damage. Race car drivers will often use it by intentionally downshifting into turns causing the vehicle to slow down.