Hot Rod Forum banner

TH350 to TH200r4 Conversion

6K views 7 replies 7 participants last post by  SSedan64 
#1 ·
Hi, newbie here. :)

I'm researching swapping the TH350 in my 250ci daily driver '74 Nova with a TH200r4. The car has 46K original miles on it.

I don't plan to drag the car but will be looking into some 6=8 upgrades and swapping in a 8.5" 10 bolt 2.73 posi-traction rearend in place of the open 3.08 rear end.

I've read a few articles on line about it and sounds like pretty much a direct swap but wonder if anyone here has done it and how much difficult/unexpected stuff had popped up.

A couple things I wonder about are:
-Can I use the same torque converter?
-Will I have to get a different crossmember?
-Can I use the same column shifter?

Any help or advice is appreciated. :)

#2 ·
Nova250-6 said:
A couple things I wonder about are:
-Can I use the same torque converter?
-Will I have to get a different crossmember?
-Can I use the same column shifter?

Any help or advice is appreciated. :)

No, you can't use the same converter. Different input shafts and the 200-4r is a lockup converter.

You probably won't have to get a different crossmember. The 4r will bolt to your existing crossmember, but the mount is about 4" further back than it was on the 350. Many GM cars (but I don't think the Xbody) have multiple holes drilled in the frame to accomodate this exact thing. For instance a Monte Carlo might have had a TH350, but an Olds Cutlass might have a 4r. GM simply equipped both cars with extra holes in the frame to make things easier. You might have to get clever depending on what your frame looks like, but its pretty straightforward.