TH400 Help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-03-2003, 02:29 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

TH400 Help

Hello,
I am fairly new to tranny, but not engine work. I searched through posts and knowledge base but nothing directly related to my problem.
I have a 90 suburban 2500 4X4 that had a rebuilt tranny one year ago. I bought it with a cracked flexplate.

The th400 took a dump on me on the highway first slipping, then heating up. I checked fluid and it came up way over full. I believe the pump gave out.
I have had this tranny down but not out 3 times now and Im gonna give up soon.
I replaced the flywheel, TC with reman, and then the pump central drive - because the tangs were broken.
When I put the flywheel in with the new TC I noticed there was a huge gap between the TC and flywheel like over 1/2 inch or so. When I replaced the pump I spaced out the gap with washers.

Now - I have very little pressure in the lines, I shot them out with air, and replaced the filter, cleaned off all I could get to.

Now I can get the truck to move at about 2K or so of revving. If I give it more gas, it reacts as a stall converter and slams into gear. I also have a mean shudder going.
I dont know if I should look to the pump again, I just replaced the inner drive gear, into my pump. I did clean out the pressure reg.

BTW after the initial failure there was very little metal in the pan, alot of sludge. The fluid was burned initially

I just dont know where to go with it. How can there be little pressure with a pump that should work? Unless I put something in wrong.
I appologize that this post is so long but I wanted to cover all the bases.
Thanks in advance for your help.

Advertisement