th400 slow 2-3 shift - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 11-05-2003, 11:58 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

th400 slow 2-3 shift

I researched the archives and I learned a tremendous amount about GM transmissions (this is a GREAT forum!) but I still need some specific help on my shift problem.

I have been running a th400 on the street/strip for 3 years. It has seen very limited miles. It was overhauled (TCI)and shift-kitted before I installed it in the car. It has an auxillary cooler, deep pan, electric kickdown not attached and I use Mobil 1 transmission fluid which has been changed once and is very clean. I run a trans temperature guage and the trans has never been hot.

The trans performed flawlessly for three years then at the last 2 races this season, I began noticing a "lazy" 2-3 shift. The 1-2 shift is still solid and my ET's were not affected but I am sure it will not cure itself and will get worse unless I do something. Am I faced with another overhaul or is there something that I can try without overhaulling it?

Thanks for any suggestions.

John

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-06-2003, 05:59 PM

th400-Any help out there?

No response to my 2-3 shift question so far. Do any transmission folks want to venture an opinion?
Old 11-08-2003, 11:45 PM