Is there any way to acheive OEM finish - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 08-27-2013, 05:48 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Is there any way to acheive OEM finish

Hey guys, just joined this site to ask this question that i've been trying to get an answer to FOREVER!

I want to get my car painted in a way that it would not look like its been painted. To me that means OEM standard. Is there a way to achieve this. I've heard that its impossible to get factory finish but custom paint can be even better than factory. Is that true??

Even though i have no experience in painting cars, i could easily tell if a car was painted. The paint just looks thicker. You can just feel it as much as you can see it. Dont know how else to explain it. It looks like you could dig into it with your nails and scoop out some paint...even though actually doing that will only result in broken nails....you get the idea.

So how is it possible to get that perfect, thorough, flawless finish. Any step by step guide out there?!

Thanks for any help guys!!

Ps. I know the more knowledgeable members will either just roll their eyes or not bother to answer or both....and the rest will just say to do a research cz it is a dumb noob question and you would prefer to answer intelligent, interesting, challenging questions....but hey, i'm sure you guys starter here some time ago

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 08-27-2013, 06:06 PM

Last photo:

First we need to know what year and make the car is... and maybe the color you want.

Paints have changed constantly since 1900, and the pigments and final finish vary by year and manufacturer.