thermostat and fan issues - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-29-2013, 06:49 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

thermostat and fan issues

I am running a sbc350 with a Holley 750 Double pumper in my rod. I think I have a 195 degree thermostat. My problem is that my fan wont kick on until 240 or so and then only comes down to 210 at idle. Should i have a thermostat that is lower in temperature and why does the fan kick on so late. just seems that running the engine over 200 all the time is real hot.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 06-29-2013, 07:33 AM

Last photo:

hi temps

what ever runs your fan is messed up... thats the first place to go.. i am no fan of 195 stat's.. drive in summer only i always run 160's and yes it does go up in temp when in traffic, but not something major. i am also a fan in drilling a 1/8" between the stat hole and the gasket area to allow air to escape when filling.
ck to make sure no air in cooling sys, lower the stat temp's and ck the turning of sys of the fan..
Old 06-29-2013, 11:37 AM
the 'Duracell Project'

Last photo:

with a 195 thermostat your always going to run in the 200 range
i'd change it out to a 185 thermostat and check why your fan is coming on so late.
check your fan operation by grounding the sensor wire, the fan should turn on immediately.
if the circuit is working ok, look at your sensor location, in the thermostat housing is ideal
but you don't want the same temp switch and thermostat or your fan will always run
if your running a 185 thermostat use a 195 switch

i have a 185 thermostat and a 185 switch that came with my spal fan