Think I have the wrong unit. - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Suspension - Brakes - Steering
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-04-2006, 06:56 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 234
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Think I have the wrong unit.

A while ago I had asked about a hydroboost unit for my 71Chevelle.
I was told a unit from a 93+ Chevy Astro van would work beautifuly, bolt up and be good.
So I got one.
Made the mistake of not looking at the pedal connection before I bought it.
Now im not sure if it will even work.
Take a look at these pics and let me know if I can make it work.

This is what the current booster rod/pedal connection looks like:



This is what my hydroboost rod/pedal connection looks like:

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2006, 09:30 AM
sedan delivery's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: davie, florida
Age: 72
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brake booster

if the distance from the firewall to the center of the push rod is different --then you might have to cut and weld the old rod to the new rod. if they are the same try a bushing for you local bearing store if you have one. the bushing can be either brass or nylon. maybe someone else has a better idea. if you have a local brake re-builder in your area you can check with them. if you do any welding keep the rod cool with a wet cloth, or remove it from the unit if possible.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2006, 09:36 AM
sedan delivery's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: davie, florida
Age: 72
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
brake booster

if you are putting in a hydro boost in because of low vacuum. you could have installed a vacuum pump form a 85 cad. coup diville, and make a bracket for your engine..just a thought.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-08-2006, 01:35 PM
xntrik's Avatar
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The rods do come out, with difficulty, I would match the length of the old one onto the new unit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 09-09-2006, 08:43 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Mass.
Posts: 234
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I was considering cutting the old rod off and welding it to the new one, but that raises the question of safety, I can weld well but all I have is a hobart 140.
I dont know if it would be adequite for the thickness of steel used on the rod.
Rod is about id say 1/4" thick
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Suspension - Brakes - Steering posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
aod speedo sending unit ? 56f100 Transmission - Rearend 2 09-30-2005 06:23 AM
Fuel sending unit won't read RodFather Electrical 3 05-22-2005 05:02 PM
Temp Sending Unit? Seon Engine 2 06-23-2003 03:01 PM
Where can I install my water temp sending unit? CHEV66JB Engine 1 05-11-2003 06:15 PM
Oil Sending Unit Assistance MI2600 Engine 3 09-11-2002 07:55 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.