Thoughts on LT 1 and LS 6 Motors - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 03-04-2005, 07:42 AM

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Thoughts on LT 1 and LS 6 Motors

I have no experience with either the LT 1 or LS 6 so would like to hear some thoughts on the pros and cons of both. I have heard of some moisture issues of the LT 1 Opti distributor and the gear driven water pump. I have also heard about the bottom end strength of the LS 6 because it has 8 main bolts (gotta have a lot to hold all that pounding in the alluminum block). I also would like to hear opinions on coil packs.

The reason for this, a friend of mine is thinking of going one way or the other in his nice 57 Chevy 2 door sedan. HP is not an issue for him and both motors are adequate in that department. He wants reliability and availability of dress up parts. Though the LS 6 is more bucks, he is a "dollar for dollar" value type guy and will spend more money if he thinks he is getting more.

Trees

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-04-2005, 08:12 AM
Hotrodders.com Moderator

Last photo:

Trees,

The LS-1 and LS-6 engines are wonderful engines. Rock solid reliability and easy horsepower. My friend has an LS-1 powered Firehawk with a turbo on it. Before he added the turbo, it had been hit continuously with nitrous and the engine never failed (although the transmission gave up the ghost several times). I think from an engineering standpoint, the LS-1/LS-6 is far superior. It will be a good deal more costly to go this route vs. the old venerable small block.