TIG Welding Aluminum - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Body - Exterior
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-17-2008, 07:18 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

TIG Welding Aluminum

Hey guys, I wasnt sure where to post this but I hope this is the right place. Ive been welding for a bout 4 years now, one of those years was with a TIG (Lincoln Electric 225), but all that experience was on steel. So recently I decided to try to stick some aluminum together....

Well lets just say it didnt go as planned, and I have yet to successfully weld 2 pieces together. Like learning with steel, I began to just run some beads on a flat piece of metal, and after some learning I was able to make a nice long stacked bead with good penetration. When I tried putting 2 together though all I did was melt the corners away, now I cleaned it really well, and I have a high amperage and I preheated it a bit, but can anybody tell me anything else I should be doing to try and get it to stick?

Thanks Alot!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-17-2008, 07:32 PM

Last photo:

How thick aluminum and how much heat are you using, also are you using pure tungston not 2%?
It sounds like you have too much heat if you are melting the corners away, I try to start 1/2" or so from the corner and work to it. Also welding aluminum is different than steel on steel you have one continus bead and you use the tortch to push the filler where you want it, on aluminum you have a bunch of spot welds that overlap and you or at least I split the difference of the two pieces with the heat and add the filler to the middle.
Are you using the pedal? I get it hot with about 1/2 pedal then as I am adding my filler step into it to get the heat and filler all at once.