Timing 355 - Page 2 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #16 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:09 PM
Custom10's Avatar
my KARMA ran over my DOGMA
 

Last journal entry: SS
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 1,095
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
I know, what we mean is that checking for correct tdc and balancer tab accuracy ensures that your timing light readings are accurate, balancers can slip etc

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #17 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:09 PM
Proud LOSER
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,799
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 54
Thanked 249 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by hcompton View Post
First problem your chip moduale says gm on it. You need an after market one. Stock one drops off at 5500 or so. If you dont already, buy a kit with recurve, moduale, coil, cap and rotor the works. Then google for hei setup usally you need to make several small adjustments for bigger cams. And usally all work toward restricting advace from mechanical and vacum and using more inital advance.

I wont go over all the steps here i have seen great stuff on the web for hei setups. With lots of good close up pix.
Not really the first step no......stock intake, 624 heads, and even if the cam is large by huge, its all done by 5500 with his set up....stock module is just fine.....the car ran fine, the the dist was removed and reinstalled, then he had issues....
Step 1 = find tdc and make sure balancer and timing tab make sense...then move on.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #18 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:12 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Custom10 View Post
I know, what we mean is that checking for correct tdc and balancer tab accuracy ensures that your timing light readings are accurate, balancers can slip etc
i have already done that, i made sure my 0 on the balancer lines up with the 0 on timing tab
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #19 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:16 PM
Proud LOSER
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,799
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 54
Thanked 249 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1981zapper View Post
i have already done that, i made sure my 0 on the balancer lines up with the 0 on timing tab
Just because they line up, doesn't make it accurate ....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #20 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:17 PM
Custom10's Avatar
my KARMA ran over my DOGMA
 

Last journal entry: SS
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 1,095
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
You need to get the #1 piston at TDC first right? using piston stop

http://www.crankshaftcoalition.com/w...op_dead_center
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #21 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by bygddy View Post
Just because they line up, doesn't make it accurate ....
lol yes i made sure that the piston is accurate with the timing marks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #22 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:28 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i made sure that the piston is at TDC, i then droped in my distributor
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #23 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2012, 10:42 PM
Proud LOSER
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,799
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 54
Thanked 249 Times in 216 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1981zapper View Post
i made sure that the piston is at TDC, i then droped in my distributor
Off a tooth maybe? Have you tried pulling it and reinstalling? Back to the start now, you said it was running fine before, but was that back in June? What I'm getting at is could the problem have been there last week but you hadn't driven it enough to know? If that's a possibility then you could be on track with a combination of bad gas, carbon build up, fouled plugs etc.....so, if its me, and I'm confident the dist is right, and the timing is right, throw new plugs at it, get some fresh good 92+ in it, set your timing conservitive, insert 80's Glam rock cassette tape, I reccomend skid row, and go drive the sht out of it....then try some more timing and see how it goes.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #24 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2012, 11:33 AM
Custom10's Avatar
my KARMA ran over my DOGMA
 

Last journal entry: SS
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Age: 49
Posts: 1,095
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 15
Thanked 26 Times in 23 Posts
Quote:
insert 80's Glam rock cassette tape, I reccomend skid row, and go drive the sht out of it....then try some more timing and see how it goes.....
Thats a good one, reminds me of that Mr. Lube commercial,,,canadian style 80's,,,my favorite,,,love the look on the gals face too haha

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #25 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2012, 06:45 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 101
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Now that i think about it, this summer i changed the filter in Qjet, and when i went to loosen the nut on the line, the metal line kinked and put a hole in it, so i cut the line back and put a rubber line on, do you guy's think that this rubber fuel line is collapsing at W.O.T?? especially on the bend?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with buddies 355 sbc timing!!!! 350vortec Engine 12 05-23-2012 09:02 PM
355 sbc timing help schottout Engine 2 12-12-2009 12:33 AM
SBC 355 Timing Question Fasazu Engine 7 10-16-2009 08:59 PM
SBC 355 Timing Question Fasazu Engine 1 10-14-2009 09:43 PM
355 update and timing question. Jared Engine 4 06-04-2003 04:26 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.