Timing Chain & Gear - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 09-05-2002, 06:54 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post Timing Chain & Gear

Would you spend the time to degree the timing on a street motor that is driven daily. Is this process more for all out racing?

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-05-2002, 07:02 PM
Slider in Wa.

Last photo:

If you have the degree wheel it will take all of about 20 minutes to do. In my opinion what you are really doing is checking to make sure the cam is right from the factory, and that you have installed it right. No you don`t have to do this. But why not . If my time and money go`s in to it, i allways check it. But i have a degree wheel. It is so simple to do. Hope this is of some help to you.
Slider in Wa.
Old 09-05-2002, 07:16 PM

Well I don't have a degree wheel and I've never used one, how can I find out more about how to use them. Would you or not advance or retard the crank gear. The timing set I have has three different places to set the gear, 0 , +4 , & -4

[ September 05, 2002: Message edited by: MHenricks ]</p>
Old 09-05-2002, 07:18 PM

If your just replacing your timing chain or a factory cam, Don't waste your time. If you installed an after market cam and are looking for that little bit of edge over your competition then degree it. There is a ton of things you can do for more power before the importance of dialing your cam comes to play that I would'nt worry about it. Unless your going racing just put it in and drive it. You will never notice the difference. It takes me about a 1/2 hour on the engine stand with the heads off. I would'nt even try it in the car.