Tips for removing oil pressure switch? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 04:50 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tips for removing oil pressure switch?

Hey everybody! So I got a SBC in my Ford Ranger....needless to say there is little firewall clearance so is there any trick anybody could give me for removing the elctric oil pressure switch without pulling the motor? Also after removing said switch I can just through a mechanical sender in there right for my new gauges?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 07:30 PM
fast68's Avatar
likes chevy trucks & boobies
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: IL
Posts: 1,970
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
yes you can use whatever oil tube setup will work, whatever fitting(s) needed to do it. napa or a local hardware store would have something if you need, to adapt the tube.

as far as room needed to remove it hmmm very tricky, maybe small channel locks/slot pliers, hmmm..

good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 09:00 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
ahhhwwk its driving me crazy because its not even super tight but I just can't rotate anything because ok my setup the sender is like in the trans tunnel... This will be tough! Thanks so fast68
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 09:00 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,250
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 105
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
How about leaving it in place and picking up the pressure at the filter? Not great but better than nothing.

Maybe pull the distributor for more working room?
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 09:04 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay nova has me thinking...isn't there another hole on the driver side (I think) that I could also use as a pressure port? If not how would I take it from the filter?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 09:09 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Or maybe passenger side above starter? I think I saw a thread about it...its an 83 block btw.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 10:58 PM
68NovaSS's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Working with chromed bolts
Last journal entry: New to me T-Bucket
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Nine Mile Falls/Suncrest, WA
Posts: 5,250
Wiki Edits: 9

Thanks: 105
Thanked 133 Times in 124 Posts
Look on the passenger side just above the filter, there will be a pipe plug in it.
__________________
Boost adds dignity to what would otherwise be a vulgar brawl...

Midnight Sun Street Rod Association
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-22-2009, 11:15 PM
junior stocker's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Everett, Washington
Age: 63
Posts: 821
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
SBC oil pressure switch.

There is actually a special socket to remove/replace this oil pressure switch. Get the right socket, and it will make the job a whole lot easier, especially if there are clearence issues. That's my advice, and I'm stickin' to it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2009, 09:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Okay cool thanks junior I had no idea they made anything like that.
I'll look for the filter side but the switch is convienent as its right by the firewall. Thanks guys!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2009, 11:39 AM
1ownerT's Avatar
Home School Valedictorian
 
Last wiki edit: Health and safety in the shop or garage Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Iowa
Age: 53
Posts: 1,645
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Would it be of any help to unbolt the trans from the cross member and lift the back of the trans, tilting the sending unit away from the firewall???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2009, 06:19 PM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 76
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I feel your pain screwing with the Oil Pressure sending unit in tight quarters. I learned to use innovative plumbing on my 36 Fords with SBC. A combination of 45* and 90* elbows can curl it around so you can get to it, but it will never be easy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-23-2009, 09:28 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Uhhh thanks one owner its a good idea but to get the motor in there i pounded out a pocket in the firewall for the distributor and if I tilted it up it would just hit the trans tunnel....i will get a pic up maybe tommorow when the suns up.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2009, 09:14 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,569
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 156 Times in 143 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chevy305ranger
Uhhh thanks one owner its a good idea but to get the motor in there i pounded out a pocket in the firewall for the distributor and if I tilted it up it would just hit the trans tunnel....i will get a pic up maybe tommorow when the suns up.
So why not unbolt the crossmember and DROP the back of the trans?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2009, 10:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Tampa Fla.
Posts: 21
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
you can also look at the front of the eng between the timing cover and the intake. not on all of them but some have a square plug right into the oil passage that ive used before. we shoved a small block chevy in a isuzu pickup 4wd. and had the same clearance issues. just a thought.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2009, 05:35 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 34
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks chuck i looked but i dont have that on my block....i had it on the lift today and I thinki I'm just call it quits and use the hole above the filter.....I'll need more nylon tubing but it looks easier. Thanks guys
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chevy 6.5 Diesel has no oil pressure again!!! dorksrock Engine 12 09-02-2012 08:51 PM
high oil pressure HELP PLEASE! RDavis81 Engine 8 03-25-2009 06:44 PM
low oil pressure question _chevy 4.3 briansansone Engine 15 04-02-2007 02:22 PM
Crankcase pressure effect on oil pressure? cboy Engine 8 06-12-2005 08:04 AM
Low oil pressure fred56 Engine 4 10-08-2003 02:19 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.