torque converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2012, 02:19 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
torque converter

I Put A Jegs Engine In My Truck The 290hp They Sell For 85 And Older Chevy. I Have 700r4 Trans Truck Does Not Want To Idle Good With Ac On. I Think It Is Stock Converter That I Have. Do I Need Diff Converter To Make Truck Idle. Have Had It In Couple Shops Still Not Right. Truck Wants To Move While Sitting At A Stop When In Gear. Do I Need Some Kind Of Stall Converter Thanks

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2012, 04:02 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 67
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by otis-larry
I Put A Jegs Engine In My Truck The 290hp They Sell For 85 And Older Chevy. I Have 700r4 Trans Truck Does Not Want To Idle Good With Ac On. I Think It Is Stock Converter That I Have. Do I Need Diff Converter To Make Truck Idle. Have Had It In Couple Shops Still Not Right. Truck Wants To Move While Sitting At A Stop When In Gear. Do I Need Some Kind Of Stall Converter Thanks
Wanting to move in gear is normal for most automatic transmission vehicles.

We need more information about this vehicle, but if it's AC related I'd suspect either too low an idle in general (dragged down too much by the drag of the AC) or a problem with the AC system itself. Generally speaking the effect of the torque converter is minimal. A "higher stall RPM" converter will only come into effect while applying throttle. Even a stock truck converter "stalls" at higher than 1100RPM, and therefore isn't affecting the engine noticeably at normal idle rpms, which shouldn't by above 800rpm unless you're running a more radical cam than you'd need for 290hp out of a 350.



Oh and one friendly piece of advice: Typing With Every Word Capitalized Is Very Difficult To Read.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:11 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
torque converter

dont have a tach but it seems like it is idle pretty high , when you put it in gear it jumps so hard sometime back tire squeal on payment, Had shop put on new ac kickdown and check ac out. but after running in traffic it will stall at red lights motor has maybe 4000 miles on it. has all new wires plugs new dist new holley carb 570cfm. Thax for info on using all cap. have 342 posi gears
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2012, 09:35 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 57
Posts: 5,204
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 7
Thanked 116 Times in 101 Posts
You need to get the idle to 600-800 in gear. If you cant accomplish this you need to find out why. What is the vacuum reading at idle.
__________________
Artificial Intelligence is no match for Natural Stupidity



Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4l60e torque converter clutch torque capacity rx191 Transmission - Rearend 1 04-05-2011 04:03 AM
Torque Converter to Flexplate Torque Spec. Needed - 2004R Zeeb Transmission - Rearend 1 05-26-2010 06:47 AM
Bellhousing bolts and torque converter bolts torque specs Davey3ch Transmission - Rearend 2 09-04-2009 11:05 AM
B&M Torkmaster 2400 rpm stall converter vs. stock torque converter??? zbhover Transmission - Rearend 2 11-02-2008 07:52 PM
torque converter the ernster Transmission - Rearend 1 05-15-2003 12:40 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:49 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.