Torque converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 01:47 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Torque converter

Is there an easier way to fill the torque converter other than dropping out the tranny? I have a 56 chevy that has been sitting for 6 years. I hooked all of the tranny linkage up and it shifts like it is suppose too. the fly wheel spins but it doesn't engage the drive line when i shift. So i figured there must be no tranny fluid in the torque converter. Any comments would be appreciated thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 02:40 PM
advanced design's Avatar
Just havin' fun.....
 

Last journal entry: Hood installed
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Oblong, Illinois
Age: 52
Posts: 637
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
If the transmission pump is functioning the converter will fill with fluid. Does the transmission have fluid? Does the pump create pressure? Is the manual valve in the valve body moving when you shift from park to r, n, d, l?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 04:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
How do i check the pump pressure? ya there is fluid in the tranny but i was told that the fluid won't go into the torque converter on it own if it is empty??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 04:56 PM
65Stanger's Avatar
Check the water, check the oil
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 377
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
When you last ran the car.... it all ran and engaged everything? When I fill up a tranny after I've put a transmission in a car fill up the transmission with a few quarts 4 or 5 or 6 depending on the size of the transmission and start it up. It will all flow into the torque converter and everywhere. Think about it logically... the pump pushes tranny fluid all throughout everything, torque converter included, and should fill it up at any time. What do you mean it shifts like it's supposed to but doesn't engage the driveline? When you put it in reverse you feel the car go into gear, but then it doesn't go anywhere? When the engine's running can you see the torque converter moving through the dust cover on the transmission? Is your driveshaft bolted up? Make sure that you have enough fluid in the transmission. Check the transmission fluid while it's running and in park, and make sure that it's full. If it's low, fill it up, and it will probably work great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:36 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 65Stanger
When you last ran the car.... it all ran and engaged everything? When I fill up a tranny after I've put a transmission in a car fill up the transmission with a few quarts 4 or 5 or 6 depending on the size of the transmission and start it up. It will all flow into the torque converter and everywhere. Think about it logically... the pump pushes tranny fluid all throughout everything, torque converter included, and should fill it up at any time. What do you mean it shifts like it's supposed to but doesn't engage the driveline? When you put it in reverse you feel the car go into gear, but then it doesn't go anywhere? When the engine's running can you see the torque converter moving through the dust cover on the transmission? Is your driveshaft bolted up? Make sure that you have enough fluid in the transmission. Check the transmission fluid while it's running and in park, and make sure that it's full. If it's low, fill it up, and it will probably work great.
Well the car wasn't mine when it was last driven, but it's a 350 tranny, when i say it shift like it is suppose too i mean the linkage is adjusted right. When I shift it, I can't feel the car go into gear, and yes I can see the torque converter moving, and yes my drive shaft is bolted up. The dipstick reads that I have enough tranny fluid but I only ran it for a few minutes. I'll let it run for longer and see if I can get the converter to fill up, and see if that makes a difference.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 05:40 PM
65Stanger's Avatar
Check the water, check the oil
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 377
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ah-ha. Sounds like it might be time to pull the tranny and take a look inside! No grinding or anything when you put it in gear just doesn't go into gear? Have you tried shifting it on the actual transmission with your hand to see if it goes into gear and it does have to do with your linkage?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 08:28 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ya i shifted it by hand before I even hooked up the linkage, and there is no grindage it is real smooth. Maybe my clutch isn't engaging? I'll have to take a look inside I guess. Just another set back in my stinking plans but I'll figure it out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 09:02 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 168
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sounds like your kinda unsure about transmissions, and there isn't one "clutch" there are many, and there are many possibilites as to why it doesn't work. Most likely a valve body problem after sitting for so long.

I wouldn't just tear into it if you have never done a trans before, i'd start with dropping the pan and then the valve body, take alll the valves out and note if any are sticking and then clean it all and put it back together

or take it to a transmission shop and have them look at it, shouldn't be that expensive for a 350 bench job

Brendan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2006, 11:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sha_ba_do_bang
sounds like your kinda unsure about transmissions, and there isn't one "clutch" there are many, and there are many possibilites as to why it doesn't work. Most likely a valve body problem after sitting for so long.

I wouldn't just tear into it if you have never done a trans before, i'd start with dropping the pan and then the valve body, take alll the valves out and note if any are sticking and then clean it all and put it back together

or take it to a transmission shop and have them look at it, shouldn't be that expensive for a 350 bench job

Brendan
Ya transmission are a grey area for me, I'll read about it or take it to a shop thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2006, 10:10 PM
65Stanger's Avatar
Check the water, check the oil
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: California
Posts: 377
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Read about it, AND take it to a shop. You'll know more about it. And if it's a real cool shop they'll sit there with you and teach you and show you what they're doing. If they're real mechanics, your interest alone should be enough to spark that little place in their heart that we all have for knowledge spreading!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2006, 12:30 AM
sbchevfreak's Avatar
Licenced Automotive Technician
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Land of big Easter eggs, Alberta
Age: 34
Posts: 1,604
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 8
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Dumb question, but you are checking fluid level with the engine running, right?

Was the trans out of the car? An then re-installed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2006, 04:59 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yes I'm checking it while it is running, and I'm not sure if the trans has ever been put to use, I know the engine and tranny are brand new and the engine only has like 6 hours on it so I'm sure the same goes for the tranny. I'm going to pull off the torque converter and check and see if it has fluid. I was told that if the torque converter is dry it won't create a vacuum to suck more fluid into it?? Not sure if this is correct but I figure I might as well check.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2006, 05:54 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 168
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
don't waste your time chechking the convertor, it will push fluid in there, we install 99% of our convertors bone *** dry from the rebuilder

Brendan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2006, 07:33 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 7,976
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 255
Thanked 85 Times in 82 Posts
i would pull a cooler line or bolt a guage onto the trans to see if there is line pressure.... easier than pulling the trans out at this point.

now........ it is possbile the pump of the trans has a clogged passage and not filling the converter. Sometimes if a trans sits outside long enough trash or rust can clog the passages of the pump , then it is over looked by the builder.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2006, 10:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Queen Creek, AZ
Posts: 15
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
i would pull a cooler line or bolt a guage onto the trans to see if there is line pressure.... easier than pulling the trans out at this point.

now........ it is possible the pump of the trans has a clogged passage and not filling the converter. Sometimes if a trans sits outside long enough trash or rust can clog the passages of the pump , then it is over looked by the builder.
Ya I took my oil pan and strainer off and cleaned them but they were both brand new, there was a little residue on the bottom of the oil pan but nothing big. Well I cleaned that out and blew the pump lines out. I check to see if it was pumping tranny fluid by taking receiving line on the radiator off and let the tranny fluid pump out a little bit. So the pump is pumping the fluid as far as I can tell.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
torque converter to flexplate bolts?? gavinpierce Hotrodding Basics 4 04-20-2006 04:25 PM
Torque converter, diesel vs gas pjd Transmission - Rearend 4 09-10-2005 08:52 PM
torque converter IDENTIFICATION 327amc Transmission - Rearend 5 03-26-2005 06:23 PM
Torque Converter Application BMRIde85 Transmission - Rearend 4 06-17-2004 02:57 PM
C5 or Torque Converter Bad? k2mooch Transmission - Rearend 2 11-30-2003 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.