torque converter to flexplate bolts?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:16 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Monterey
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
torque converter to flexplate bolts??

I have a fresh 327, new flexplate(153 tooth), a new torque converter and a good working th350. Last night while mating the tranny up I ran into a problem. I put the flexplate on and torqued down the bolts, then slide the converter on the tranny until it was seated where it was supposed to be. When I slide the tranny onto the motor and bolt it up the torque converter "legs" are not flush up against the flexplate? Do I need some sort of spacer there? This torque converter does not have threads on it, it's the kind that will need a nut on one side. Sorry for the rookie question, just want to do it right, the first time at least.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2006, 08:52 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Monterey
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
After searching a bit here I found this question has already been answered. It seems that there is about 1/4" of play in there and sliding it forward is not a problem. If this is not the case please let me know.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:08 AM
Siggy_Freud's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 29
Posts: 2,371
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I generally put the converter on the tranny first, and turn it while pressing on it a bit. It will seat fully in three noticable steps. Once you get the tranny bolted up, there will be a slight gap. Once you torque the converter to the flexplate it will suck up that gap and fit snug.
__________________
Bringing history and technology together.

Last edited by Siggy_Freud; 04-20-2006 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2006, 09:49 AM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 9 Posts
Yep ...your going at it right...when you tighten up the bolts the gap will close.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-20-2006, 04:25 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Albany Oregon Show
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Merlin, Oregon
Age: 59
Posts: 254
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Flex Plate

This might be a stupid answer but I'm a rookie also. On my flex plate it is indented on one side and protrudes on the other at the location of the bolt holes for the torque converter. If you have the flex Plate on backwards it will have an indentation where the torque converter mounts to the flex plate. Sorry if this is too basic but this was a learning process for me.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Hotrodding Basics posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
torque converter IDENTIFICATION 327amc Transmission - Rearend 5 03-26-2005 06:23 PM
TH350 gap between converter and flexplate QUESTION chrisgarrison Transmission - Rearend 6 12-26-2004 11:32 PM
Torque Converter Problem Madhawk Transmission - Rearend 4 11-23-2004 08:35 PM
Ford Flexplate spacing k2mooch Transmission - Rearend 9 01-05-2004 02:51 PM
What Can I Really Expect From a High Stall Torque Converter ? white66coupe Transmission - Rearend 3 05-25-2003 05:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.