Torque converter install - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:39 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 43
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Torque converter install

Ok, my first trans rebuild is complete, and I am installing the converter. Before I put it on, I am able to turn the input shaft and the output moves. Once I get the converter to seat, and I have about 1 1/4 from the end of the bell housing and the face of the converter, the converter spins smoothly, but the output does not move. Am I seated? I felt it seat 3 times, grabbing the splines. I tried to get it to seat more, but It seams to be in all the way. Am I missing something here?
It is a 69 Powerglide, by the way.
Thanks.

    Advertisement
Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 04:44 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
The outer housing of the torque converter has engaged the pump as you slid it in. When you did not have the torque converter in you were able to turn the input shaft by hand. The torque converter will perform that function when the engine is running and the trans is full of fluid.

Vince
Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 05:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 43
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks Vince

So Vince, am I ready to bolt to the flex plate?
Andrew
Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2005, 07:12 PM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,837
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 86 Times in 73 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by connera
So Vince, am I ready to bolt to the flex plate?
Andrew
Yep, just make sure that when you start to bolt up the engine the torque converter is pushed back far enough and can be spun freely with the engine bolted up. Then just pull it up to the flexplate and cinch it down.

Vince
Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-15-2005, 02:46 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Philadelphia
Age: 43
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
thanks

Excellent! I will do that this Saturday! Thanks for the help.
Andrew
Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-16-2005, 05:46 AM
Mighty Mouse S-10's Avatar
Cleverly disguised as grownup
 

Last journal entry: Hollman & Moody
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Huntersville, N.C.
Age: 55
Posts: 140
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Did you put any trans fluid in the torque converter before you installed. The last 2 I installed said to put a quart of fluid in the converter before installation. Also watch your spacing between flexplate and converter. If it is too much it may not let the pump engage properly.
Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2005, 03:36 PM
53LEDSLED's Avatar
here to learn
 

Last journal entry: finishing up the skirts
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: South Lyon MI
Age: 32
Posts: 276
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mighty Mouse S-10
Did you put any trans fluid in the torque converter before you installed. The last 2 I installed said to put a quart of fluid in the converter before installation. Also watch your spacing between flexplate and converter. If it is too much it may not let the pump engage properly.
is that supposed to be 1 quart of fluid in the converter on top of what you put in the trans
Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 05-16-2005, 08:11 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,063
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 317
Thanked 97 Times in 94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 53LEDSLED
is that supposed to be 1 quart of fluid in the converter on top of what you put in the trans
========= you can install 1 quart or none into the converter. Total quarts installed is what to keep track of. While the engine is running the tranny continuously pumps fluid through the system including the converter.

As an example the exception to this rule is: mopar 904 - 727 type trannys. On the dip stick mopar tells you to check the fluid level in neutral, engine running. That is due to the fact that these mopar trannys do not fill the converter while in 'park'.

Most other trannys pump the converter full in any shifter position.

This subject has been beat to death. thread is closed.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Last edited by Crosley; 05-16-2005 at 08:16 PM.
Quick reply to this message
Closed Thread

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
torque converter IDENTIFICATION 327amc Transmission - Rearend 5 03-26-2005 06:23 PM
Is my jeg's brand torque converter a dud? elukas Transmission - Rearend 5 10-07-2004 11:08 AM
Torque Converter Application BMRIde85 Transmission - Rearend 4 06-17-2004 02:57 PM
C5 or Torque Converter Bad? k2mooch Transmission - Rearend 2 11-30-2003 08:27 PM
What Can I Really Expect From a High Stall Torque Converter ? white66coupe Transmission - Rearend 3 05-25-2003 05:21 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.