Torque Converter Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:12 PM
newbielike's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Torque Converter Question

I've installed a few transmissions over the years, and from what I can remember you usually have to slide the "TC" (torque converter) a hair to mate to the flexplate, this is where I had questions.

I bolted the transmission up fine making sure before i slid the transmission up to the block that the torque converter was still seated. I then bolted up the crossmember and driveshaft/carrier bearing and was gonna start on the "TC" but noticed it was tight up against the flexplate and I couldnt get one to spin without the other one also spinning, so I couldn't line the holes up. So I had to unbolt the driveshaft/carrier bearing and unbolt it from the crossmember and loosen the bolts in the block and slide it back a hair. I checked that the torque converter was seated and it was. I lined up the holes as I slid the transmission back up and bolted everything back up again, same thing. It was still tight against the flexplate.

So I was wandering is that normal for the torque converter to be tight against the flexplate? Note: I was doing this by myself so 2 people might have been able to spin the flexplate and torque converter seperately.

Also they gave me a different style torque converter that uses nuts and bolts instead of the good ones with the nuts made into the TC's mouting plates. Maybe the mounting plates on the new TC are a hair thicker?

Any help would be appreciated. This is my third tranny this year I'd hate to to have #4 before 2008 gets here. The truck had a 700R4 in it when I bought it and it went out in June I think, I had a TH350 laying around and it only lasted until just about 2 weeks ago. Granted it had been sitting in the building for a couple years and had a few years wear on it at that. Also had to order me a new kickdown cable because the housing on the old one was cracked and almost broke apart from the cable lining, I installed it and forgot to grab the housing before I fed it up top and you can guess what happened. Snapped it right off the housing so I had to go back and order another one. I love hotrods, it's always something and most the time the parts aint stocked or easy to find. We had to look through the books to find the right cable, after going to 3 different parts stores and none of them being able to find it.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:43 PM
topfuel's Avatar
ASE Certified Master Machinist
 
Last wiki edit: How to rebuild an engine
Last journal entry: More Pics
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Cincinnati
Age: 53
Posts: 329
Wiki Edits: 6

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It sounds like the converter isn't fully engaged into the front pump. Check it carefully and make sure the converter is fully engaged before bolting it up again. There should be approximately 3/16"-3/8" between the converter mounting lugs and the flexplate when the trans is bolted to the engine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-17-2007, 06:53 PM
newbielike's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Roger that, I just found a couple other sites searching around, it felt like it was seated but the clearance issue threw me off. It's always better to ask question now and look stupid than waiting until you tear it up and actually be stupid

Thanks for the info, here's a site I found for proper installation if you want to really know you got it right:

http://www.partshp.com/ConverterInstructions.htm

I've also heard to listen for 3 different clicks/clunks when installing it but I don't know
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque converter question. gavinpierce Hotrodding Basics 1 02-15-2006 10:53 AM
Torque Converter Failure - TH350 blown81 Transmission - Rearend 1 10-16-2005 12:41 PM
Torque converter, diesel vs gas pjd Transmission - Rearend 4 09-10-2005 09:52 PM
I'm so dumb. (torque converter question) raidmagic Transmission - Rearend 11 03-07-2005 09:29 PM
Torque Converter Problem Madhawk Transmission - Rearend 4 11-23-2004 09:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.