Torque Converter question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 02:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 389
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Torque Converter question

Hey guys this might seem like a dumb question but I am new to this. I am currently replacing the torque converter on my TH350. Do I need to fill the new torque converter with transmission fluid before splining it on to the input shaft? I am guessing that I will not need to as the transmission fluid pump will fill it I believe. Any help here greatly appreciated, Thanks!!

Keith

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 03:04 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,058
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 315
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by sexypizzaman
Hey guys this might seem like a dumb question but I am new to this. I am currently replacing the torque converter on my TH350. Do I need to fill the new torque converter with transmission fluid before splining it on to the input shaft? I am guessing that I will not need to as the transmission fluid pump will fill it I believe. Any help here greatly appreciated, Thanks!!

Keith
the pump fills the converter... there is a constant flow of fluid to cool the converter.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-10-2008, 03:22 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: canada
Posts: 564
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
i would still put a quart of fluid in it
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:12 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: atlanta
Age: 30
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
your ok with the torque converter.just add 3 to 4 quarts into trans for converter
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2008, 07:06 PM
curtis73's Avatar
Hates: Liver. Loves: Diesel
 
Last wiki edit: How to find cheap parts
Last journal entry: 1999-2001: Getting it on the road
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Age: 40
Posts: 5,128
Wiki Edits: 16

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
I like to put a couple quarts in the converter. When you're filling a dry tranny before startup, it only holds a few quarts in the pan, so until you get things up and running, it has drained all the oil out of the pan and deposited it in the TC. For that reason I fill the TC and the pan as well. That way you have a little more lube to play with for first startup.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2008, 08:28 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 9,999
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,141
Thanked 491 Times in 365 Posts
Like it's been said,I would put a couple of quarts in the converter before installing.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque converter question. gavinpierce Hotrodding Basics 1 02-15-2006 09:53 AM
Torque Converter Failure - TH350 blown81 Transmission - Rearend 1 10-16-2005 11:41 AM
Torque converter, diesel vs gas pjd Transmission - Rearend 4 09-10-2005 08:52 PM
I'm so dumb. (torque converter question) raidmagic Transmission - Rearend 11 03-07-2005 08:29 PM
Torque Converter Problem Madhawk Transmission - Rearend 4 11-23-2004 08:35 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.