Torque converter sugestions - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 06:53 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central fl.
Age: 36
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Torque converter sugestions

I changed cams in my 402 last weekend and now I need a converter so it idles in Gear better. I changed to one I had laying around and it's still to tight. I'm open to sugestions so here's the specs. 79 Malibu with no weight reduction around 3600, th350, 3.73 gear with 27" tire. Motor is 408" big block, 8.5 compresion, weiand stealth with 750 vacuum secondary holley, small tube headers, and a comp xe268 cam. The cam specs are 224/230 at .050, .515/.520 lift and 110* seperation. They list the range as 1600-5800. Also I don't want to go high dollar on this as the th350 is planned to be changed to an overdrive in the future and this is a street car that will hardly ever see the track.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 12:40 PM
Rickracer's Avatar
ASE Master Tech, Fabricator
 
Last wiki edit: Taurus 2-speed fan control wiring diagram Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 937
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Where is your initial timing?? For that cam in a big block, you should not really need a loose converter. I'd say you'll need at least 12į of initial timing with that cam and motor combo.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 12:58 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
X's 2 . In a big block you should not even need a stall .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:35 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central fl.
Age: 36
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
The timing is 16* intial 36* total plus vacuum advance at manifold vacuum. It needs a converter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:52 PM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayers1981
X's 2 . In a big block you should not even need a stall .
Guys, it's still only a 402 cid engine, BBC or not...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 01:58 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central fl.
Age: 36
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327
Guys, it's still only a 402 cid engine, BBC or not...
Sometimes I think I need to just leave the bb part out and just say it's a 408" chevy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 03:18 PM
V8 Super Beetle's Avatar
VW makes it, Chevy shakes it..
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Houston, TX
Age: 33
Posts: 1,245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have this one behind my 383 w/ a th350.

http://www.summitracing.com/parts/BMM-20404/


Seems like a nice piece so far. 2,400 stall. I imagine it would stall a little less behind your 408 but would give you enough slip at idle.

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 03:37 PM
Rickracer's Avatar
ASE Master Tech, Fabricator
 
Last wiki edit: Taurus 2-speed fan control wiring diagram Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 937
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Even in a healthy 355, an XE 268 could get by without a converter. Probably could use a little looser converter though. I take it this motor doesn't have all that much compression? I'd try a little more initial timing, especially since that's free ...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 03-24-2010, 04:25 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central fl.
Age: 36
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Yep it's only got about 8.5 unfortunately. The car is driveable with the converter it has now but it pulls on it hard in gear.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2010, 06:58 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327
Guys, it's still only a 402 cid engine, BBC or not...
Oh really , Your telling there is no differance between and big block head design and a small block?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 03-25-2010, 07:55 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ayers1981
Oh really , Your telling there is no differance between and big block head design and a small block?
I'm telling you that the engine is a 402/408. That it is a BBC and not a SBC accounts for a couple percent difference in the peak power between the two, were they built to the same cam specs and CR. But that's not the whole story.

The matter at hand is the torque converter, and whether or not he needs one w/a higher than stock stall speed (he does) and how much stall speed he needs (enough to put the engine at or very near the torque peak when hit hard from a dead stop).

Actually, given the much larger ports/valves/header diameter of the BBC heads (non PP oval port's- forget about rectangle ports, they'd need a TON of stall speed) on a 400 cid-sized BBC, the 402 could need MORE stall speed than a 400 SBC w/smaller ports.

BTW- in the quote of yours:
Quote:
In a big block you should not even need a stall.
you seem to think that a "stall" is what you go and buy. This would be incorrect- "stall" refers to an RPM range where the TC is applying the most force to push the vehicle forward. If you walk up to a salesman in the speed shop and ask for a B&M stall- don't be surprised if he laughs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2010, 06:37 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Indiana
Posts: 42
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cobalt327
I'm telling you that the engine is a 402/408. That it is a BBC and not a SBC accounts for a couple percent difference in the peak power between the two, were they built to the same cam specs and CR. But that's not the whole story.

The matter at hand is the torque converter, and whether or not he needs one w/a higher than stock stall speed (he does) and how much stall speed he needs (enough to put the engine at or very near the torque peak when hit hard from a dead stop).

Actually, given the much larger ports/valves/header diameter of the BBC heads (non PP oval port's- forget about rectangle ports, they'd need a TON of stall speed) on a 400 cid-sized BBC, the 402 could need MORE stall speed than a 400 SBC w/smaller ports.

BTW- in the quote of yours: you seem to think that a "stall" is what you go and buy. This would be incorrect- "stall" refers to an RPM range where the TC is applying the most force to push the vehicle forward. If you walk up to a salesman in the speed shop and ask for a B&M stall- don't be surprised if he laughs.

I ran a very similar cam in my 396 chevelle with stock converter for 5 years . No problems . If he has a lighter car than I could see it needing a stall .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-26-2010, 06:59 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central fl.
Age: 36
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
There's a good chance your 396 had more compression than my 402 has. I am considering a 10" converter from redneck. It's only $170 shipped.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2010, 06:49 AM
cobalt327's Avatar
WFO
 
Last wiki edit: Intake manifold
Last journal entry: 1980 Malibu Wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Atlanta
Age: 59
Posts: 5,037
Wiki Edits: 1616

Thanks: 128
Thanked 597 Times in 546 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Phoneguy
There's a good chance your 396 had more compression than my 402 has. I am considering a 10" converter from redneck. It's only $170 shipped.
I've never dealt w/Redneck. Just please- do not ask them for a 10" "stall". LOL

I see you do use the correct term, so I'm preaching to the choir- but anyway... A 10" might be a bit much, actually. You should be more than able to get by w/a 11" TC. I'd prolly just give them a call and talk it over w/them to get a recommendation.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-28-2010, 04:23 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Central fl.
Age: 36
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I emailed them Friday with all my info on the car. They emaailed me back and said there cheap 10" should work just fine. It's only around a 2200-2600 stall I beileve. I've been doing alot of reading and it seems that a tight 10" converter is more effcient than a 12" or 11" in the same stall range. So it might be a direction I'll go. I drove the car this weekend to a car show and it does seem better now with the old summit converter I put in there, but I think it would be better with a little looser comverter.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
700R4 Torque Converter Flexplate Question fosterdl Transmission - Rearend 8 03-23-2008 12:03 PM
Torque Converter Question newbielike Transmission - Rearend 2 12-17-2007 05:53 PM
Building a SBC to rev to 8k, and have power Andyrew Engine 52 04-17-2006 12:46 PM
Torque Converter Failure - TH350 blown81 Transmission - Rearend 1 10-16-2005 11:41 AM
Torque converter, diesel vs gas pjd Transmission - Rearend 4 09-10-2005 08:52 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.