Torque converter won't fully seat in transmission - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2007, 10:18 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Torque converter won't fully seat in transmission

When I tried to install the converter, it thumped 3 times like it should, though it didn't feel like it went in as far as it needed to. I tried putting the trans up to the engine and the converter was wedged against the flywheel while I still had about 3/8" gap between the engine and bellhousing.

I know the stator and input shaft inside the transmission is engaging and I also know it's engaging the pump, it just doesn't seem to be going in all the way. When I constantly turn it while pushing in for a few minutes, it becomes a royal pain in the *** to remove, even though it doesn't seem to be sliding farther on the shafts.

Is it normal to have the clearances this tight? Edge Racing rebuilt the converter and I'm pretty sure they replaced all the internals.

I'll include a link to some pictures of the front of the transmission, you can see the shiny marks on the stator where it stops You can also see where it's engaging the input drum. I know it's engaging the pump because after I pull it off after spinning it, the 2 tangs for the pump gear are in a different location. Should I just keep pulling it back and pushing it in over and over until it finally slides all the way in or is there something wrong with the converter? I've been at it for a few hours now and have made no progress at all, all I need is another 3/8" at least!
http://s6.photobucket.com/albums/y21...t=P1010037.jpg

    Advertisement

Last edited by Mystic95z28; 09-12-2007 at 10:24 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2007, 02:22 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Duffield ,Va
Age: 67
Posts: 526
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What trans are you dealing with?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2007, 08:59 PM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,519
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 6
Thanked 146 Times in 133 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mystic95z28
Is it normal to have the clearances this tight? Edge Racing rebuilt the converter and I'm pretty sure they replaced all the internals.
The converter's not all the way in. The first time I installed a converter in a trans I went through exactly the same thing. Tried and tried to get it seated. Kept trying to bolt it to the motor. Not enough clearance. It took another half hour of wiggling and rotating the converter, coupled with extensive swearing, to FINALLY get it to seat. With the converter fully seated, you should barely be able to fit your finger between the converter and the back of the bellhousing. Any more clearance and it's almost certainly not seated.

One trick if the trans doesn't have any fluid in it is to stand the trans on end and drop the converter in vertically. Just be prepared - you'll be amazed at the amount of tranny fluid that can come out of an "empty" trans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 09-12-2007, 09:07 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Apex, NC
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
sorry, it's a 4L60E

I finally got it in though, apparently Edge had a batch of converters go out with a conical with super tight clearances, so it was having a hard time getting the o-ring from the input shaft into the conical. I had to put a ****load of lube on the o-ring and tap it with a rubber mallet when I got everyone else engaged.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
this is a saver.... GM build codes TooMany2count General Rodding Tech 24 11-23-2009 09:36 AM
Torque converter install connera Transmission - Rearend 7 05-16-2005 08:11 PM
torque converter IDENTIFICATION 327amc Transmission - Rearend 5 03-26-2005 06:23 PM
Torque Converter Problem Madhawk Transmission - Rearend 4 11-23-2004 08:35 PM
checking torque converter Tissue Transmission - Rearend 3 04-22-2004 08:23 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.