Total Newbie Question - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 02-02-2006, 07:57 AM

Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Total Newbie Question

Hi! I just joined, and after searching the forums, I haven't seen an answer to the question I have.

I am extremely new to working on my car. It is a 61 Chevy Bel Air sedan (4 door). It currently has a v8 283 engine. I want to put the most hp possible in it, but I have no idea how to figure out what I can put in there, and I am hesitant to talk to a mechanic, because I think they see dollar signs whenever I walk through the door (female - sheesh ).

On top of that, what else will I need to change once I get the new engine?

Any suggestions/opinions are appreciated!

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-02-2006, 08:16 AM
tryn to learn

Last photo:

Any SBC(small block chevy) v8 will basically swap right in there like 305. 350,400 etc. Most people go with a 350.

The most HP possible? well i don't think there is a most possible really, depends on how much money you are willing to put into it. in my 82 grand prix summer ride i got around 250hp with my SBC 350 and its fun, but im sure it will get boring this summer. i would aim for 300ish HP if you are just using it for street.

you can also swap out the rear end axle gears to get much better excelleration, but will suffer on the highway with higher RPM's which then could be solved by a Overdrive transmission.

you should check out Crate motors as well on places like jegs.com and summitracing.com