Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board

Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/)
-   Body - Exterior (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/body-exterior/)
-   -   toughest paint (http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/toughest-paint-76898.html)

acsteve 12-23-2005 08:43 PM

toughest paint

I was steered to nason urethane with a etch primer. This was supposed to be a tough paint for the money anyway. How would this system rate in terms of durabiltiy to mild abrasions and the elements as well as some minor solvent exposure? thanks Should I really go to epoxy primer over blasted metal? Paint guy gave me etch primer, said it would give better adhesion and rust prevention and was a bit cheaper. It sprayed well and all seems good but should I now change to epoxy and was I jobbed by the jobber? Also would it be prudent to stick with either ppg and dupont systems since I am a novice. Are no name(least not that I know) anygood? thanks

BondoKing 12-23-2005 10:59 PM

Sounds like classic counter crap.. Etch primer is old technology, just like lacquer primer, lacquer paint, acrylic enamel paint, single stage urethane....

It is like this... You can paint anything with anything... I as well as many of the old timers have painted lots of cars/vehicles with lacquer paint and primer or old AE jobbers seem to love to push on new guys...

Yet time has given us better and better methods and products..
For bare metal you should be using epoxy, then do your filler work over top of it

Next you will 2k primer and block sand

Next you will bc/cc... cheap, most user friendly, and easiest to repair... trust me everyone makes mistakes and needs to repair things!!!!

As far as product brand goes... look here http://southernpolyurethanes.com/homepage.htm

you can get your epoxy, 2k, clear and if you are looking for something in one of his few colors, then his base too...