Towing with a Van - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Hotrodding Basics
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 07-23-2010, 07:58 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Towing with a Van

Hi all.
First of all I'm not a mechanic, retired with limited income. I have a 1990 GMC G3500 Vandura (one ton) with a new crate 350 (bought it that way) with about 20k miles on it. I also have a 27 ft travel trailer weight about 7500 lbs loaded. As you can guess my current engine setup will not pull this TT very well at all.

When I retire in about a year my wife and I plan on traveling some with the RV. Like, travel to destination - maybe a couple of days drive - then staying for 30 days each month. The same routine each month - travel and then stay a month.

Options 1 - swap the 350 out for a 454 - what kind of problems would I have doing that and about how much would it cost me. Is this the best option

Options 2 - have someone rebuild my 350 into a 383 stroker for towing. What all would I need to do and about how much would this cost. Is this the better option and would the 383 stroker be strong enough.

Will the 383 last as long as the 454?

Thanks -

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-23-2010, 08:03 AM

Last wiki edit: Ford axle ratio codes
Last journal entry: Rear Suspension
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 31

that van should be able to pull 7,500 lbs just the way it is.. check the 350 to make sure everythings in order before just doing an engine swap..
Old 07-23-2010, 11:57 AM

Last wiki edit: Ford engine specifications Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 8

A 1 ton van with a 350 should to that trailer reasonably well though an empty 27 foot travel trailer quite possibly doesn't weigh that much empty.