TPI horsepower - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-16-2005, 10:21 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Edmonton Alberta Canada
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TPI horsepower

I have A 305 tpi bored 30 over but everything else is stock as far as the guy that built it says . it does run well but would like to get more power from it? If anyone has swapped cams , heads, etc , any input would be helpful .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 05:55 AM
TurboS10's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 3,463
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A TPI engine will respond to the same mods as anything else. The difference is that you will need to have the ECU reprogrammed for the mods and probably larger injectors to handle the fuel needs.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:49 AM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 54
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You can get better intake systems, Vortec spacer plates, headers, Hypertech programmer, and a catback system. None of these HP add ons will require injector or computer changes.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 01:50 PM
edge's Avatar
Time is short, are you ready?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Carolina
Age: 44
Posts: 658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracketeer
Vortec spacer plates, ... Hypertech programmer, ...None of these HP add ons will require injector or computer changes.
Vortec spacer plates on a stock TPI?

Hypertech programmer for an ODB-I ECM?

How much additional horsepower can the stock 19# injectors handle?

"Hypertech programmer" and not affect "computer changes"?

Other than a cold air intake system and free flowing exhaust system, a head and/or cam change will make the most power. Depending upon what you change to (i.e. size of the cam); yes, injectors and computer changes may be required. Another variable to consider is it a MAF or MAP (Speed-Density) TPI system? Ed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 05:18 PM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 54
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Vortec was a bad choice of words. It's called a Helix spacer. Gives better bottom end torque. The Hypertech programmer downloads the stock memory before changes are made. On a trick engine set up third party software would be needed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 06:50 PM
TooSlow's Avatar
Beater Driver
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Davenport, Iowa
Posts: 50
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hopped up 305

Check out this site for some useful 305 buildup info:

http://www.ws6transam.org/
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 07:42 PM
edge's Avatar
Time is short, are you ready?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Carolina
Age: 44
Posts: 658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by bracketeer
Vortec was a bad choice of words. It's called a Helix spacer. Gives better bottom end torque. The Hypertech programmer downloads the stock memory before changes are made. On a trick engine set up third party software would be needed.
I was not aware that a throttle body spacer is available for the TPI system.

Also, as much reading and research that I have done on programming my TPI system, I never saw any thing offered by Hypertech for reading and programming an OBD-I TPI system. I would be interested in seeing these devices. Are you sure you haven't confused the Hypertech programmer for an OBD-II (LS1) and the original OBD-I (TPI)?

From everything I read at www.thirdgen.org, the only way to change an OBD-I system is to either erase the EPROM with a UV light, then load a new program using something like a PP2 (Pocket Programmer). Or, you can use a MEMCAL adapter to use a flash chip. Having a Hypertech programmer would certainly be easier and more convenient, but I have not seen such a device.

Could you give us some sources? Thanks, Ed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 07:50 PM
bracketeer's Avatar
489 Lemans
 

Last journal entry: Street Legal
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Courtenay, BC, CehNehDeh
Age: 54
Posts: 2,139
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Tpi

Power programmer 111 works on these vehicles;
GENERAL MOTORS
2004-05 GM 8.1 Allison 30022
2004-05 GM 4.3/4.8/5.3/6.0/8.1 4L60/4L80 30022
2001-05 GM 6.6L Duramax Turbo Diesel LB7 (2004 1/2 LLY) 30029
2003 GM 8.1 Allison 30019
2003 GM 4.3/4.8/5.3/6.0/8.1 4L60/4L80 30019
1999-04 Corvettes 5.7 LS1 All Trans 30025
2001-04 Corvettes Z06 LS6 Manual 30025
2002 GM 4.3/4.8/5.3/6.0/8.1 Trucks All Trans 30012
2002 Camaro/Firebird LS1 All Trans 30025
2002 Camaro/Firebird 3.8L All Trans 30009
1999-00 Camaro/Firebird LS1 All Trans 30025
2001 Sierra/Silverado 4.8/5.3/6.0L All Trans 30023
2001 Trucks & SUV's 8.1L All Trans 30023
1999-00 Sierra/Silverado 4.8/5.3/6.0L All Trans 30005
2000 Truck 4.3/5.0/5.7/7.4L All Trans 30024
1998-99 Truck 4.3/5.0/5.7/7.4L All Trans 30024
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 08:17 PM
edge's Avatar
Time is short, are you ready?
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Carolina
Age: 44
Posts: 658
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
The last year for the Tuned Port Injection was 1992. The TPI was (is) an OBD-I system and in its stock form cannot be reprogrammed without a UV light applied to the EPROM or a flash chip conversion method. The flash chip method is the preferred method now.

Rather than explain this subject at length, please simply read this article - "Chips Know it All" and my tuning experience here

Below is a flash chip installed in a MEMCAL adapter. The MEMCAL holds the EPROM. The original EPROM is bypassed and the engine is run using the binary file contained on the flash chip. The second picture shows the assembly installed in a 1990-1992 Corvette #727 ECM.





Neither method permits the simple downloading and reprogramming of the stock MEMCAL (EPROM). Now the OBD-II does have this option using a Hypertech programmer like mentioned. But his question was specific to a TPI (Tuned Port Injection) system which is an OBD-I system.

Ed
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 10:18 PM
97Z28's Avatar
NTI Grad.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chardon, Ohio
Age: 32
Posts: 607
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
umm... yeah. you can get a throttle body spacer for anything with a TB. from TPI to TBI to SFI to MPFI... as long as it had a throttle body your good to go. bit they make carb spacers for carbs as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-17-2005, 11:32 PM
Siggy_Freud's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 29
Posts: 2,371
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
They do make TB spacers but keep in mind you'll have to lengthen your throttle and detent cables for it to work. Many better upgrades before doing the spacer IMO.

Hypertech makes no programmer for the TPI systems. They make no programmer that I am aware of for the OBD-1 systems. Flash memory like your talking about wasn't standardly introduced until the OBD2's in 1995 (at least that I am aware of).
__________________
Bringing history and technology together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2005, 09:53 AM
97Z28's Avatar
NTI Grad.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Chardon, Ohio
Age: 32
Posts: 607
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
all the TB spacers that i've worked with have special brackets in the kit to relocate the throttle and kickdown cables. standard feature
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-18-2005, 10:02 AM
Silver Surfer's Avatar
More machine than man
 

Last journal entry: bwaahhaahahaaahhaa
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kansas City, MO
Age: 36
Posts: 701
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 62
Thanked 36 Times in 32 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by TooSlow
Check out this site for some useful 305 buildup info:

http://www.ws6transam.org/

i dont care for this guy's chili recipe!

( http://www.ws6transam.org/chile.html )
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2005, 12:59 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Columbia, SC
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TPI on 5.3

Can a TPI system be installed on a 5.3? If so any major modifications?
Thanks -Nolan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 10-04-2005, 01:22 AM
Siggy_Freud's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Portland, Oregon
Age: 29
Posts: 2,371
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You would have to get a manifold that would fit. The 5.3's have Vortec heads dont they? You probably wouldn't have to play with the chip settings much as the displacement is rougly the same. I imagine the cam specs on those engines are somewhat close to stock TPI settings as well.
__________________
Bringing history and technology together.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build for Hp or Torque? Venturat Engine 76 09-23-2008 10:22 AM
TPI Q's: jesse01 Engine 10 02-20-2005 08:37 PM
tpi system on a non tpi setup Siggy_Freud Engine 2 02-18-2005 10:05 PM
tpi setup, opions Blob Engine 0 02-15-2004 08:32 PM
what exactly is horsepower ewibolo Engine 7 03-05-2003 09:39 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.