tps sensor wiring - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 06:58 PM
done learning, done living
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten
Age: 28
Posts: 1,432
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 103
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
tps sensor wiring

I have a Holley TBI for a Chevrolet. I have a 1993 Chevrolet K1500. The Holley tbi has the older throttle position sensor on it. The truck has the round plug with three wires and the throttle body has the flat plug with three wires. Can I cut off the connector on the truck and wire the older style plug on and the tps work correctly. Both sensor plugs have the same three different colored wires, so would I just wire up the wires to the same colors.
Also the Holley tbi doesn't have the idle air control or even the provisions for an idle air control valve. What would be the consequences for not having the idle air control valve?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:12 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I had the same thing on my truck. It worked just fine wiring in the other connector. Mine was the older TBI going on my '91, but it had an IAC. I haven't seen them without an IAC before. If it isn't there, you'll get a check engine light. I also don't see how it would idle if you can't control the air needed to make it idle.

If you're putting that TBI on, you'd better be prepared to burn chips because it will blow black smoke otherwise. Also, if you have the old style injectors (with the dome cap) you may want to change them as they are not very good.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:33 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose Ca
Age: 61
Posts: 472
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have 2 kits both don't have a isc,so I was wondering about this myself.No instructions in kits.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:36 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What kit numbers do you guys have?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 09:46 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose Ca
Age: 61
Posts: 472
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Box has the number 502-20s
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 10:01 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Oh, that's the pro-jection system. I had the TBI system, so I'm afraid I can't be much help there. If you go to http://holley.com/TechService/Instructions.asp any type in your model number, they have instructions.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-08-2010, 11:09 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Jose Ca
Age: 61
Posts: 472
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It is a tbi.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2010, 07:22 AM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I mean their "replacement" TBI. The pro-jection is a whole system if I'm not mistaken.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-09-2010, 08:18 AM
Registered User
 
Last wiki edit: Wheelbase database Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 3,416
Wiki Edits: 1

Thanks: 5
Thanked 122 Times in 110 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pre-Tuner
I mean their "replacement" TBI. The pro-jection is a whole system if I'm not mistaken.
Correct. Just to be clear, Holley made direct replacement units for GM TBI factory systems, and the Pro-jection system as a stand-alone unit. The Pro-jection throttle body can be made to work with the GM computer, but as noted, expect to burn custom chips.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:03 PM
done learning, done living
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten
Age: 28
Posts: 1,432
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 103
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
I am running the Edelbrock Multi-Point conversion kit so the throttle body is just being used as an air valve. I am concerned with the idle air control. Will the truck just idle rough or will it idle at all. If I just plug the sensor in and tie it to the intake will I still get the check engine light?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:07 PM
406cu.in. of tire smokin' fun
 

Last journal entry: 406 Build Thread
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Tacoma, WA
Posts: 232
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Did you get any instructions with it? There's got to be a way around it. It could be as simple as an idle adjustment screw, but spending all that money on a port fuel injection kit tells me there should be more. Like I said though, I don't have any experience with it, just TBI.

This is a good forum, so I'm sure someone will chime in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-10-2010, 06:45 PM
done learning, done living
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Middle of the Mitten
Age: 28
Posts: 1,432
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 103
Thanked 58 Times in 52 Posts
I bought the throttle body on ebay. I paid 30 bucks for the damned thing because the guy said that he could not get the injectors to work. I couldn't either. But I bought it because I thought it would work good with the multi point to get more air in the engine. I didn't even consider it not having the idle air control.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2010, 07:45 AM
Member
 

Last journal entry: JB's 37 Pickup
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Smoky Mountains
Age: 75
Posts: 2,358
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
IAC primary purpose is to keep the idle RPM constant when going from Park or Neutral to Reverse/Drive and when the air conditioner is turned on. Other words, it keeps the idle RPM constant. You don't need it if you can live with the slightly higher than normal idle RPM while in park and neutral. You are going to either be lucky or good, or both, if you get that mix-mash set up to work!!!

Trees
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 02-16-2010, 01:18 PM
Rickracer's Avatar
ASE Master Tech, Fabricator
 
Last wiki edit: Taurus 2-speed fan control wiring diagram Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kissimmee, Florida
Age: 55
Posts: 936
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
The Pro-Juction throttle body actually has the IAC boss in it, it just isn't drilled. I bet it could be retrofitted by somebody crafty, I've got one here I've thought about trying it on, if I EVER get any spare time to tinker,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do I install a TPS in a 91 350 Blazer slyshar2 Engine 2 06-27-2006 10:54 AM
Adjustment tool for TPS screw sabino56 Engine 1 11-27-2005 06:11 PM
TPS sensor and Converter question. Parisienne66 Engine 5 05-12-2005 10:50 PM
4L80E diesel computer 5foot2 Transmission - Rearend 2 04-09-2005 12:48 PM
Adjusting my TPS? 5.0Towncar Engine 18 04-04-2003 07:53 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.