Tranny help in a 79 Trans Am - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-12-2004, 05:17 PM
BudLight's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxford, MI
Age: 44
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tranny help in a 79 Trans Am

Hi. I just installed a B&M shift kit in my 350 transmission. Having some shifting problems.

1. when you put the shifter into reverse it feels like it is going into gear but won't move until you feather the accelerator.
2. the tranny will not shift into 2nd gear until you hit almost 5,000 rpm's.

Some notes -- The trans operated properly until I installed the shift kit.

The trans was out of the car when I installed the shift kit. Not my first shift kit install. So I am 99.99% sure everything was done right.

I did degrease and paint the trans while it was out.

I have checked all the vacuum lines and can't find any problems. The linkage is also tight, seems to shift the trans correctly.

I had someone ask me if I filled the torque converter before re-install. Which I didn't do. I have never done that is the past and havn't had any problems. But who knows could be the my problem. My other question would be whether the vacuum modulator could be bad? maybe when I degreased the motor I messed something up?

Thanks for any help,

Scott

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2004, 08:46 PM
BudLight's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Oxford, MI
Age: 44
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
anyone have any ideas? thank you :-)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-13-2004, 09:01 PM
FASTCHEVY's Avatar
RatRod B4 RatRods were Cool
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Dallas Texas
Age: 32
Posts: 800
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Is the vacuum modulator hooked up?
There is a screw inside the modulator where the vac line goes in, turn that in until it clicks, then turn it out 3 turns. that may help if it is hooked up to the vacuum line going to the manifold vacuum.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.