Tranny Line - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 11:36 AM
Malibu1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tranny Line

Ok, my tranny line broke, so i took a rubber hose and hosed it off between 2 ends, and i took hose clamps to try and tighten em down, when i did every hose clamp i put on there broke, so i took and tightened it up asfar as i thought the hoseclamp would go before it broke, and fluid still comes out....i dunno what to do is there any other sudgestions other than buying a new tranny line??

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 11:38 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,856
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 20
Thanked 246 Times in 200 Posts
You can buy an industrial hose clamp for hydraulic hoses, but I would still replace the line. Its cheap and not that hard to do.
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 12:06 PM
camaroman7d's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Vacaville, California
Age: 47
Posts: 2,245
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
You could put a small flare on each end of the steel line you are trying to join. This will help prevent the rubber hose from coming off and/or leaking.

As mentioned above buy a quality hose clamp, the sheap ones do not take much to strip/break.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 12:10 PM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I've used rubber hose to patch tranny lines and install coolers a bunch of times. Never had one that couldn't be sealed with just a hose clamp, there's not any real pressure in the lines. You might check the lines/cooler for a kink/restriction somewhere causing a build up of pressure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 01:02 PM
Malibu1980's Avatar
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 55
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i dunno, but now its breakin the hoses.............im about to blow the ***** up, im tired of workin on it........arhdsjfhjsfhdskfhds
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 09:21 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,057
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 314
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
The cooler lines in a tranny can run 40-60 psi in them depending on the tranny, shift mods , etc.

I've seen 100 psi in our race trannys cooler system on our tranny dyno





Quote:
Originally posted by BstMech
I've used rubber hose to patch tranny lines and install coolers a bunch of times. Never had one that couldn't be sealed with just a hose clamp, there's not any real pressure in the lines. You might check the lines/cooler for a kink/restriction somewhere causing a build up of pressure.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-20-2003, 09:48 PM
troy-curt's Avatar
Shop Owner And Troll Hunter
 

Last journal entry: Detailing Eng. Compartment
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Prairie Grove Ar.
Age: 75
Posts: 2,646
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
It just cost a few bucks to replace the line and do it right. You must have a vibration or shaking that broke it , zip tie them together might help.

Good Luck
Troy

__________________
69 ss rs full custom camaro 98 ISCA grandchampion
69 ss rs bb camaro wifes driver
66 Elcamino 350/all dz parts,ac,windows,loaded,my driver
69 ss chevelle bb conv.fresh frame off
26 T sedan street rod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2003, 07:30 AM
adtkart@aol.com
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Newport News, VA
Posts: 3,220
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
If you are not using high pressure hose of the right size, it will leak. Your best bet is to replace the line or atleast use a compression union to repair the line.

I have rebuilt alot of burned up trans due to cooler line leaks that were "patched" with rubber hoses that leaked. It is alot cheaper to replace the line than the trans.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2003, 11:56 AM
BstMech's Avatar
NYOFP4RJ3CHRIS
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: TN. In the corporate states of America
Age: 41
Posts: 1,552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Yeah, and I've never used rubber hose on tranny lines and they will always leak.

Jeeze guys, give me a break......
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-21-2003, 09:30 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Houston Texas
Age: 52
Posts: 1
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tranny Line

The rubber hose should work. If not you can get a 5/16 union for metal line from a parts house. Be sure to check your cooler flow when you get the line repaired. If the rubber hose isn't holding it may be building to much pressure in the cooler line, if the cooler itself is plugged. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2003, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Indianola, Iowa
Posts: 60
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
You might try bypassing your cooler by unhooking it and using your rubber line and clamp connections to couple the lines together and see if it still leaks. Then you'll know if the trouble is in the cooler, or somewhere else. If it still leaks then inspect the lines for mashed places or kinks.

You could take the lines off at each end and blow through them to see if they are plugged. Same for the cooler. If everything is open, then use compression fittings and steel pipe the same as a brake line repair.

Look for vibrating or moving lines with the motor running.
If you blow a line after checking everything, then the pressure is way to high and the problem would have to be internal in the transmission.

You might talk to a transmission shop manager and see if they've had similar problems.

Good luck..............................
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-22-2003, 11:44 AM
magapin's Avatar
56 Pontiacs Rule!!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hartland,Wisconsin
Age: 51
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I've used rubber hoses to patch lines in the past , but I had put 2 new clamps on each end of the hose (total of 8). your dealing with a lot of line pressure.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-24-2003, 10:22 AM
powerglide_66's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: council bluffs, IA
Age: 34
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Try this: go to the parts store and buy a section of the appropiate size metal line and buy two compression fittings. You'll know what to do then. Its a better fix than using rubber tranny line.

I have had high-pressure tranny lines on my car since '99 and have had no problems at all.

Maybe cause my setup is not high-performance at all but srictly stock.

Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2003, 05:09 PM
dankarol's Avatar
40 nash
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: rainier oregon
Age: 74
Posts: 7
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Malibu If you have a small airport or aircraft parts supplyer around you try them for the hose's for the tranny or any other line that needs a high pressure line. I use them for the gas and tranmission line.They work great and are of better made than what could be found in a auto part store.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2003, 05:38 PM
Skip Jensen's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 4
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tranny lines

I own an '80 malibu, did exactly the same thing, guess what. Didn't work. Just buy new lines. You'll save yourself alot of trouble in the end. They're comparitively cheap anyways, and if you don't want to end up with a piece of junk after any work you've done it's best to just do the job right without any mickey-mousing. (trust me, i learned the hard way with my malibu)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.