tranny or rear end??? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 10-14-2002, 11:22 AM

Wiki Edits: 0

Post tranny or rear end???

I am new to working on cars and have the following questions: 1. I have a 3:55 rear end and a Muncie M20 4 speed in my 65 vette. When I'm going 40mph the tach reads about 1730rpm but the car sounds like I need to shift again but I'm already in forth gear. Most of my driving will be between 40-50 with some highway driving at 65. I can't do 65 now because it sounds like the tranny or something is wound out. I also have side pipes for exhaust which doesn't help the noise factor. Do you think the gearing is to low on either the rear end ot the tranny? Also is anyone familiar with a video put out by Gearzone that tells you step by step how to rebuild a Muncie. I would like the challange of rebuilding the tranny myself but only if the video is user friendly for green horns like me. Thanks, Mark

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-14-2002, 12:01 PM

Last photo:

you will need some special tools to rebuild that muncie, a press to remove 2nd gear, a big thin wrench to remove the front bearing nut, large external snap ring pliars, dial indicator, if you have these you probably have enough gear head ability to rebuild this trans, but there are some tricks to assemble it, get a shop manual and go for it.
Old 10-14-2002, 12:14 PM

Last photo: