Tranny swap - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2007, 10:43 AM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tranny swap

I have a 62 Pontiac Stratochief(similar to a Bonneville) that came with a SBC coupled to a powerglide. I will be swapping in a mildly modified big block Chevy for more torque, since this is a fairly heavy car. I was thinking of installing a 700R4 to replace the PG since it has an overdrive gear, therefore I could go with a fairly low ratio rear end and retain some decent gas mileage on the highway. My question is, I would like to retain a stock appearance both inside and out, can the stock column shifter work with this tranny, since the PG is a two speed and the 700R4 is a four speed? Would I be able to manually shift through all the gears? Maybe there is a custom bellcrank that would alow this?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:23 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mar del Plata, Argentina
Posts: 35
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I had a 50 Ford that had a flathead originally & was "converted" to a 302/C4.....the linkages I had to fabricate as the throw was different from one to the other.....the selector indicator was another concern...It was all purely fabrication & experimentation, I seriously doubt somebody "makes" one specifically for your application....Time for you to do some REAL customizing...no bolt-ons here!
__________________________________________________ ______Rick........
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:27 PM
Henry Highrise's Avatar
Lost in the 60's
 
Last wiki edit: Removing stuck fasteners Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Dixieland
Age: 69
Posts: 15,189
Wiki Edits: 4

Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Measure the length of your column....then hit the bone yards and measure some GM columns on some vehicles that used a 700R4 trans. If you can find a column the same length ...then you can swap it out...this way you have the right shifter and could even have a tilt.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-14-2007, 02:38 PM
xntrik's Avatar
Save a horse, Ride a Cowboy.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,131
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
I'm pretty sure that there is a detent kit for the GM column shifters as well as a renumerated indicator. Sorry, I don't have specifics handy.

Check Year One, Lokar, and you might cruise the ads in Street Rodder Magazine, Super Chevy, CarCraft, etc.

It is a common thing to do now-a-days.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2007, 06:18 AM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Henry Highrise
Measure the length of your column....then hit the bone yards and measure some GM columns on some vehicles that used a 700R4 trans. If you can find a column the same length ...then you can swap it out...this way you have the right shifter and could even have a tilt.
Yeah, I thought about that, but chances are this new column would probably have the ignition switch within the column, for the steering lock. The stock ignition switch is in the dash. Appearance wise, having two switches may look strange. Also this newer column would not look stock. Good idea though, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2007, 06:36 AM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by xntrik
I'm pretty sure that there is a detent kit for the GM column shifters as well as a renumerated indicator. Sorry, I don't have specifics handy.

Check Year One, Lokar, and you might cruise the ads in Street Rodder Magazine, Super Chevy, CarCraft, etc.

It is a common thing to do now-a-days.
Thanks for the leads. I entered "shift detent kit" in google and bingo!

http://www.shiftworks.com/index.html

I believe these guys have what I'm looking for.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2007, 06:49 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,926
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 22
Thanked 284 Times in 225 Posts
I went from a powerglide to a T350 in my 62 Parisienne........I am using the stock column shifter. You can feek the trsns clicking into the 3 gears, but the numbers don't quite line up. I just set it so drive was on the "D"...

Another concern I would have with the 700R is its length...........It may be long enough that it will hit the "X" frame....Better measure for that first. The T350 fits fine, just had to shorten the drive shaft.

BTW...are you a member of the Canadian Pontiac Club?

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/...anpontiacclub/
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-15-2007, 08:36 AM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
I went from a powerglide to a T350 in my 62 Parisienne........I am using the stock column shifter. You can feek the trsns clicking into the 3 gears, but the numbers don't quite line up. I just set it so drive was on the "D"...

Another concern I would have with the 700R is its length...........It may be long enough that it will hit the "X" frame....Better measure for that first. The T350 fits fine, just had to shorten the drive shaft.

BTW...are you a member of the Canadian Pontiac Club?

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/...anpontiacclub/
Holy Shoot! Good point, I hadn't thought of the longer length of the 700R4. I was really hoping to have an overdrive gear. I guess my only option would be a Tremec. What about a lock up torque converter? Doesn't it reduce the rpm's on the highway or does it just simply lock the final gear (1:1 for a TH350)?

BTW, yes I am a member of the Canadian Pontiac Club: a62strato. Great site.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2007, 12:39 PM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
I went from a powerglide to a T350 in my 62 Parisienne........I am using the stock column shifter. You can feek the trsns clicking into the 3 gears, but the numbers don't quite line up. I just set it so drive was on the "D"...

Another concern I would have with the 700R is its length...........It may be long enough that it will hit the "X" frame....Better measure for that first. The T350 fits fine, just had to shorten the drive shaft.

BTW...are you a member of the Canadian Pontiac Club?

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/...anpontiacclub/
Poncho,

I am going with the th350 swap. By how much did you shorten the driveshaft. I figure about 2". Does that make sense? The PG mesures around 25.5" and the th350 with 6" tail is 27.7". Also, does the transmission mount have to be moved back or does an adapter/plate have to be fabricated?

Regards.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2007, 04:13 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,926
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 22
Thanked 284 Times in 225 Posts
I don't remember how much I had to shorten it......15 years ago. Best to put it in, and them measure how long a shaft that you need.

The tranny mount is in the same spot as the Powerglide.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2007, 06:24 PM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
I don't remember how much I had to shorten it......15 years ago. Best to put it in, and them measure how long a shaft that you need.

The tranny mount is in the same spot as the Powerglide.
ok, thanks. Your Parisienne was for sale, did you sell it yet?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2007, 06:40 PM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 62
Posts: 16,926
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 22
Thanked 284 Times in 225 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrl
ok, thanks. Your Parisienne was for sale, did you sell it yet?
No....found a job instead, so am keeping it for a while.
__________________
Ontario Rodders

Budget RVs
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2007, 07:44 PM
grandpaws 57's Avatar
"Don't need no V/8"-grandpaw
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Dufur or
Posts: 257
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Aod

On my AOD swap into my 57RWag. The AOD has it's detents internal,so we were able to use bell crank from donor car.By having adjustment from 59 two speed colume too belcrank and from belcrank to trans with HEMI joints all gear postion came thru.Yea,I know it's a FORD!!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 04-09-2007, 10:26 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: West Virginia
Posts: 8
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrl
Yeah, I thought about that, but chances are this new column would probably have the ignition switch within the column, for the steering lock. The stock ignition switch is in the dash. Appearance wise, having two switches may look strange. Also this newer column would not look stock. Good idea though, thanks.
I installed a later GM column in my 61 ventura. Cut out the key switch area and fill it. You'd never known I did mine if I had not mentioned it. Mike
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 06-19-2007, 02:01 PM
mrl mrl is offline
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 70
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by poncho62
I don't remember how much I had to shorten it......15 years ago. Best to put it in, and them measure how long a shaft that you need.

The tranny mount is in the same spot as the Powerglide.
The th350 is in. I bought the proper transmission yoke for the th350 (the powerglide had less teeth on the output shaft). Now I need to shorten the driveshaft. What is the minimum length that the trans yoke must be into the tailshaft of the th350?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
4x4 85 ranger windsor swap and need to change tranny gothrod87 Transmission - Rearend 4 03-27-2006 08:29 PM
third gen camaro tranny swap krzy erl Transmission - Rearend 4 06-14-2005 10:21 AM
tranny swap...whats better chevy82 Transmission - Rearend 2 03-09-2004 04:37 PM
manual tranny swap chevyIIdie4 Transmission - Rearend 1 05-13-2003 09:09 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.