tranny temp gauge - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:20 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: claremore
Age: 37
Posts: 79
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tranny temp gauge

I need to know what side to put the tranny temp gauge on my tranny. I have a 700r4... The fluid inlet side or the outlet side.. and then what is what, as in is the top cooler line fluid out or fluid in...

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 11:37 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,281
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 100
Thanked 120 Times in 99 Posts
I installed mine in the front of the pan, after trying to install it on the linkage side .For cooling lines in and out go here http://www.tciauto.com/tech_info/cooler_fittings.htm
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 04:59 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Vacuum brake bleeder set up
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,245
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I put my sender (electronic gage) in the pressure test port.


If you have a mechanical gage it won't fit there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 07:58 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
top cooler line is fluid return from the cooler. You do not want the temp gauge there. Fluid out line will give a false high temp reading since this oil is directly out of the converter

Install the temp sender in the pan or main case...

Returning fluid from the cooler lubes the tranny parts and cools them too.

as the fluid drops to the pan after lube & cooling this is where the tranny temp is best taken.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 08:58 PM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Vacuum brake bleeder set up
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,245
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
top cooler line is fluid return from the cooler. You do not want the temp gauge there. Fluid out line will give a false high temp reading since this oil is directly out of the converter

Install the temp sender in the pan or main case...

Returning fluid from the cooler lubes the tranny parts and cools them too.

as the fluid drops to the pan after lube & cooling this is where the tranny temp is best taken.
Do you think I mine is in an acceptable location?

I've had many people tell me that in the pressure test port will give false high readings and that the only right place to put the sender is in the pan. I don't see that the fluid could gain that much heat after only going to the pump but the main reason I put it there was it was just 'too easy'.

Last edited by Triaged; 04-21-2005 at 11:02 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 04-21-2005, 10:08 PM
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Pioneer,Tennessee
Age: 65
Posts: 14
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
In the pan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 12:27 AM
malc's Avatar
Living At The Speed Of Life
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Espaņa Right Coast
Age: 63
Posts: 3,281
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 100
Thanked 120 Times in 99 Posts
Hereīs mine brazed in at front.
I found a pic of the trans left side without the pan to help show where itīs cluttered with shift linkage, and the right side fairly clear.
(Left side being driver side)
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	transpan_700R4.jpg
Views:	145
Size:	112.6 KB
ID:	4726   Click image for larger version

Name:	trans_without_pan_left_side.jpg
Views:	119
Size:	134.7 KB
ID:	4727   Click image for larger version

Name:	trans_without_pan_right_side.jpg
Views:	110
Size:	118.2 KB
ID:	4728  

Last edited by malc; 04-22-2005 at 01:06 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 06:02 AM
cboy's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: Finished
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Atwater, CA
Age: 69
Posts: 3,918
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 7 Times in 4 Posts
Would it be possible to install the sender in the pan just using gasket washers rather than brazing?
__________________
Always learning...and sharing what I've learned. The Scratch-Built Hot Rod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 07:56 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
installing the sensor that way... they usually leak



Quote:
Originally Posted by cboy
Would it be possible to install the sender in the pan just using gasket washers rather than brazing?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:07 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Vacuum brake bleeder set up
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,245
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by cboy
Would it be possible to install the sender in the pan just using gasket washers rather than brazing?
The problem is that you can't really find fittings without the tapered threads. It is hard to get just the right thickness. If you want to try you could get a 1/8"NPT x 1/4"NPT reducing bushing and a short 1/4"NPT female coupling. If you have a NPT tap you could tap the coupling deeper. I would then just clean it up real well and install it with JB-weld.

Being lazzy the pressure test port looks real good! You don't even have to drop the pan
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 08:17 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
The pressure port will function well for the temp of the tranny.


I often use aluminum tranny pans which can be drilled , tapped for the temp sensor




Quote:
Originally Posted by Triaged
Being lazzy the pressure test port looks real good! You don't even have to drop the pan
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:27 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: claremore
Age: 37
Posts: 79
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
temp gauge

so the sending unit will screw right into the pressure test port...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 04-22-2005, 10:47 AM
Member
 
Last wiki edit: Vacuum brake bleeder set up
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,245
Wiki Edits: 8

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mychevystang
so the sending unit will screw right into the pressure test port...
As long as it is a electronic gage it will (at least my Autometer one did). The pressure test port on a 700r4 is 1/8" NPT and the sender is also 1/8" NPT. You don't even need an adapter. It took me about 2min to install the sender and another 5hrs to run all the wires and mount the gage

Mechanical senders are much bigger then the electronic ones. They are 3/8" NPT to 1/2" NPT and won't fit in the pressure test port.

No matter how you mount it don't use teflon tape on the threads because the housing needs a good ground to work right. I used some liquid teflon sealant on mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2005, 10:49 PM
Neophyte's Avatar
I'm not superstitious
 

Last journal entry: Release catch for trunk lid pt.5
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Johannesburg, South Africa
Age: 45
Posts: 261
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm very glad I found this thread. One more question. I'm about to buy some Auto Gauge gauges for my project amongst others an oil temp gauge which I would like to use for my 700R4.

Am I assuming right in that an oil temp gauge can be used on either the transmission or the engine depending on your needs?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 05-27-2005, 11:26 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,130
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 358
Thanked 104 Times in 100 Posts
temp gauges designed for use in liquids will work in engine or tranny or ? Just so the temp probe is covered in a liquid for proper temp reading is the way I understand it.

I have an Auto Meter tranny temp guage in the engine block of my 1961 Dodge Lancer. I had the tranny temp gauge & I am too cheap to buy another guage...

You will notice the temp range ( low to high ) is usually different from a water to oil temp gauge.

190*F is 190*F any way you read it . LOL




Quote:
Originally Posted by Neophyte
I'm very glad I found this thread. One more question. I'm about to buy some Auto Gauge gauges for my project amongst others an oil temp gauge which I would like to use for my 700R4.

Am I assuming right in that an oil temp gauge can be used on either the transmission or the engine depending on your needs?
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Possible for autometer temp gauge to be bad? fouroheight68 Engine 8 02-21-2005 11:20 AM
Coolant Sensor? Temp Gauge what do you think? my350camaro84 Engine 1 02-14-2005 07:50 PM
Which temp gauge is more accurate Palmtrees57 Engine 3 10-30-2004 06:38 AM
Temp gauge grandprix601 Electrical 2 03-17-2004 08:45 AM
1950 Buick temp gauge in engine stuck! reluctant_paladin Engine 1 04-10-2003 08:49 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:23 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.