Tranny temp gauge sending unit location - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 01:59 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tranny temp gauge sending unit location

HI
I'm going to be installing a trans temp gauge ,and am undecided where to put the sending unit. I don't think I can put it in either line that goes to the cooler,because they are rubber,and wouldn't give it a ground. Don't really feel like drilling&welding on the pan, wasn't planning on taking it off. I heard somewhere that on a 700-r you could screw it into the case somewhere. what I want to know is if there is a place on a turbo 350 case where it could be screwed into?

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 02:15 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: 50 Ply wagon
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Pottstown,Pa
Posts: 668
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 35 Times in 34 Posts
I put mine inline with the hoses. All you have to do is get a TEE fitting that has the same thread as the sending unit, which is usually 1/8" NPT. Then just adapt a piece of line from each end and the connect the hoses back up. I don't know about the 350 chev trans for fittings. not a chevy guy here.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 02:47 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,182
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
is it a 1/8 inch pipe thread sized sensor?

in the pan is best.

Next location : thread it into the rear port on the passenger side of the t-350 trans... just above the pan rail. Remove the plug that is there

you do not want the sensor in the cooler lines.
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 02:50 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks,you wouldn't have a pic of where that plug is would you?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 03:01 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,182
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
port is in front of the circle marked modulator - vacuum ... Red line around the port


__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.

Last edited by Crosley; 12-26-2008 at 03:50 PM. Reason: diffeerent photograph
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 03:36 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks a lot Crosley!
I think most of the senders I see are 1/8 pipe,I'm assuming that is also the thread where that plug is,is that right?
Thanks again
Gary

Maybe I shouldn't have said they are 1/8 pipe,I think maybe I was assuming that
looking at B&M gauges at summit---they don't say what size

Last edited by yragat; 12-26-2008 at 04:09 PM. Reason: not sure of thread size
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 07:08 PM
boatbob2
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: north florida
Age: 76
Posts: 1,377
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 6
Thanked 27 Times in 24 Posts
trans lines to cooler...

Hi,i would replace the rubber trans lines with metal lines,NAPA has them...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 07:28 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Hi,i would replace the rubber trans lines with metal lines,NAPA has them...


WHY??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 12-26-2008, 11:09 PM
SSedan64's Avatar
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Macon, GA.
Age: 50
Posts: 6,016
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 46 Times in 46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by yragat
Hi,i would replace the rubber trans lines with metal lines,NAPA has them...


WHY??
Much more durable. If your drag strip does any inspection, rubber hose don't cut it. Hope your not using gas hose. At least use trans hose.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:09 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: pennsylvania
Posts: 1,091
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I'm using trans hose and its not a race car ,just street-hotrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2008, 04:49 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
is it


you do not want the sensor in the cooler lines.
Why not?
That is the actual temp coming out of the trans.

The trans people (BM, TCI, etc)recommend keeping the trans at a controlled temperature using an inline H thermostat of 190*, as sold by Summit, Jegs.
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:02 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,182
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 416
Thanked 107 Times in 103 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ScoTFrenzel
Why not?
That is the actual temp coming out of the trans.

No...... cooler "out flow" it is not the actual temp of the transmission... it is the fluid flow out of the torque converter where almost all the heat is developed. That temp reading can be quite high at times.

the best place for temp reading is in the transmission pan..... as the cooled oil returns to the transmission it enters the lube circuit. The fluid then washes the heat way from the parts of the transmission as the fluid also lubes the parts.

the fluid in the pan indicates a more true temp of the parts. just my opinion.


A fluid temp from 150 to 180*F will be fine. That will burn off the condensation inside the trans too
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 12-28-2008, 05:12 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,172
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosley
No...... cooler "out flow" it is not the actual temp of the transmission... it is the fluid flow out of the torque converter where almost all the heat is developed. That temp reading can be quite high at times.


Just asking:


I do agree with you that the output line is the hottest place because the torque converter is spitting out the highest temp. Especially during stall.

Seems to me that as fast as the oil is circulating that the oil in the pan doesn't have much time to cool anyway.

Isn't that why the custom transmission companies recommend a 190* thermostat in the cooler line?
Engine as well as tranny thermostats maintain a MINIMUM temperature being closed until the trans output hits 190* then opening to add needed cooling.

I just kind of figured that since they recommend this for their $3000 trannys that maybe it is a good idea.
That is what they say, anyhooo.

I am not a tranny man, and I can't tell you where the sending unit on my new TITAN 5.7 truck is located. It might be different than what other companies recommend.

What I do on rods is install a thermostat and a BIG cooler and ignore the temperature since I know it will be 190* minimum and whatever the cooler can provide beyond that.

Last edited by ScoTFrenzel; 12-28-2008 at 05:29 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sending Unit Not Working ???? cashflow55 Electrical 7 10-11-2008 08:56 PM
Temp sending unit busterwivell Hotrodding Basics 5 09-16-2008 08:26 PM
no room for oil sending unit murrsue Engine 4 01-28-2007 01:06 PM
sbc temp sending unit location? joe k Engine 3 07-12-2005 02:02 PM
Where can I install my water temp sending unit? CHEV66JB Engine 1 05-11-2003 07:15 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.