Transmission / pinion angle setup - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-07-2010, 05:55 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

Transmission / pinion angle setup

I've been looking at websites and postings on pinion angle setup for a week and finally tackeled settong mine up today.
First, I built the chassis from the ground up, along with the entire car. It is a 1932 Ford pickup with a chevy 350 and Muncie M20 4 speed. I took it to two shows this spring and won two trophies. Not bragging here, just setting the stage for my problem.
I have only driven the pickup for about 200 miles even though I have been driving it for about 14 months. My problem is vibration at all speeds that seems a little worse if I am going up a hill.
When setting up the chassis, I set the carb intake level and set the pinion at 3 degrees up - - toward the front. After getting back from the show last weekend, I promised myself I would solve the vibration befor going to another.
I shold mention that I am running 14" wheels on the front and 15" on the rear, which makes the car sit at a healthy rake without having the "stinkbug" look.
Today, I checked the trans output shaft using an inclinometer on the yoke; it was sero degrees. I checked the pinion and found it to be zero degrees as well. I could tell by the paint on the four bar set up that the alignment shop had changed the pinion angle for some reason. I had that done about 2 years ago.
All the info I've been reading over the past couiple of days ALL reference the engine being set on a higher plane than the pinion. My car is the opposite. I welded the engine mounts directly to the boxed frame and welded in a standard X member with a trans mount.