Transmission rebuild: $800 to $1200? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 05-16-2006, 12:10 PM

Last journal entry:
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

Transmission rebuild: $800 to $1200?

I just took my 65' GTO to a transmission shop for a rebuild and they quoted me $800 to $1200 to rebuild the ST-300. Now, that is included in the labor of taking it out of the car. They claimed it would be hard to find the parts for the transmission. Is the price right? Or do you think they are just pulling my leg? I just took it in because it was starting to slip. This is my first time getting a tranny rebuilt. In what ballpark should this cost? Thank you,

-Sam

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-16-2006, 02:29 PM

Last photo:

sounds fairly high,parts should be available from transtar.Isn't this trans the pontiac version of powerglide? If so you could probably do it yourself fairly easily.
Old 05-16-2006, 04:51 PM

First of all...research your transmission model thoroughly.
is it one of the rare st300's with the switch pitch torque converter?
if so rebuild might cost yuh more.
run an ebay search for your tranny...you'll be surprised just by the number of new parts available from vendors. including manuals and rebuild kits. heck there's even rebuilt trannies available for most makes and models!
check it out...might help in acurate pricingfor a rebuild and or core charge...also go to a reputable tranny/speed shop that's familiar with wrenching on classic vehicles...preferably one where the owner/head mechanic is a racer/car owner himself.
you'll be happier with their work.