Transmission won't shift into 1st or 2nd - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 04-10-2008, 02:53 PM

Wiki Edits: 0

1995 f-150Transmission won't shift into 1st or 2nd

Hey, I just bought a 95 f-150 4x4 with a straight 6/5sp.

All the gears worked fine when i drove it home and around town, but now it will not go into first or second gear. It makes a slight noise in these gears like fluid swishing or bearings spinning, but when i let out the clutch nothing happens. It does engage in 3,4,and 5 with no trouble and the clutch works fine on those gears and did work fine until the 1st and 2nd stopped engaging. the shifter still moves into the first and second positions like it is supposed to.

I'm really new to manual transmissions (i don't even know how to check the fluid) so you'll have to put things in simple terms. Have I been taken for a ride?

Thanks for any help.

Advertisement

Last edited by 1983lux; 04-10-2008 at 06:29 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-10-2008, 06:01 PM

Last wiki edit: Transmission identification
Wiki Edits: 85

Something is wrong in the 1st/2nd shift train. If your lever moves into the correct positions, then most likely your fork is worn out or broken.

If your lever will not move to the correct positions, then something is wrong with the detent (lock-out) pieces.

Regardless, diagnosing the problem without disassembling the transmission is like a doctor diagnosing your illness over the phone - pure speculation.
Old 04-10-2008, 06:33 PM

yeah, it does move into the correct positions perfectly with little resistance.
Old 04-12-2008, 12:04 AM

transtrouble

check your pedal kit its probally broked aluminium ****