Trouble shooting fan thermo sensor - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:00 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: No. Minn, Fl Keys
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Trouble shooting fan thermo sensor

Just broke in new engine today but the elec fan would not come on so we jumpered the relay and continued the break in.
After a little trouble shooting it looks like it is the thermo sensor, but I have no idea how to check it. Does a single wire sensor internally ground when it reaches "on" temp to complete a circuit to ground for the relay? Suggestions please!

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-06-2009, 07:07 PM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,881
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 59 Times in 54 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lazydawg
Just broke in new engine today but the elec fan would not come on so we jumpered the relay and continued the break in.
After a little trouble shooting it looks like it is the thermo sensor, but I have no idea how to check it. Does a single wire sensor internally ground when it reaches "on" temp to complete a circuit to ground for the relay? Suggestions please!
A one wore switch operates like you think, completing the ground when it reaches the switch setting. Is the switch an original equipment or did you just buy one and install? The reason I ask is that I did the same thing with a 327 in an S10 and found out that the switch they sold me was for a computer system and not a mechanical. It would not allow it to complete a ground no matter how hot it got. I replaced it with an older model switch and it worked fine. Just a thought.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2009, 08:33 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: No. Minn, Fl Keys
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Bought it fm Summitt for generic use. Used in SBC with Cooling Components CCI1770 fan and AAW 70 amp wiring harness and relay.
Summitt did call me about the part they sold and asked me to read the printed numbers on it as some were part of a recall of some type, but allegedly this was not one of them. BUT it sure makes me question it!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2009, 08:54 AM
XNTRCI-T's Avatar
AKA Lee in KC
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Overland Park, KS
Age: 66
Posts: 530
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
You probably already know this, but just in case... did you use thread sealant on the switch? If so, it may be preventing the completion of the circuit.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 10-07-2009, 03:46 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: No. Minn, Fl Keys
Posts: 28
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
No did not have sealent (teflon tape) as I think they said not to use it. Unfortunately it was weeping while running and no matter what tightening was done the leak continued. So I put on some teflon paste and at least the leak stopped.
I did figure out that I could test the sensor with an ohm meter and heating it up with a heat gun, only problem was I could not determine what the opening and closing temps were. Sure hope the paste only fills in microscopic areas and that some where the threads touch the block

Last edited by lazydawg; 10-07-2009 at 03:49 PM. Reason: add info.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
trouble shooting 68bird Transmission - Rearend 6 06-11-2006 10:48 AM
I hate trouble shooting! Chevymetal Engine 4 07-28-2004 04:45 PM
fuel system trouble shooting Gmachine Engine 4 04-06-2004 12:22 PM
need help w/14 bolt ff posi id and trouble shooting Jason Transmission - Rearend 12 11-25-2003 04:09 PM
trouble shooting 86 monte Engine 6 01-27-2003 11:56 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.