trubo 400 torque converter - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:29 PM
71haulnazz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: buffalo,ny
Posts: 92
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
trubo 400 torque converter

I had a 71 chevlle with a straight 6 and swapped for the 350. I obviuosly couldnt use the torqu converter from the 6 cylinder as it is way too small for the flexplate on the 350. My question is that, I put the torque converter for the turbo 400 onto the stock powerglide and I have the tranny full of fluid and the car wont seem to move or the tranny even engage. The vacuum line that comes off the back of the powerglide fell off a few times during tuning. The vacuum line runs through the linkage. I do have some adjustments to make tto the linkage. But I am moving the linkage by hand under the car and the tranny still doesnt want to engage??? I have taken the tranny through all rpms and it still doesnt engage?? It was perfect pre engine swap?? Do I need a different torque converter?? I have a turbo 400 tranny but just didnt want to install due to my untrusting purchase of this 350(which runs like a champ by the way). What can I try???

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:39 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,057
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 314
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 71haulnazz
I had a 71 chevlle with a straight 6 and swapped for the 350. I obviuosly couldnt use the torqu converter from the 6 cylinder as it is way too small for the flexplate on the 350. My question is that, I put the torque converter for the turbo 400 onto the stock powerglide and I have the tranny full of fluid and the car wont seem to move or the tranny even engage. The vacuum line that comes off the back of the powerglide fell off a few times during tuning. The vacuum line runs through the linkage. I do have some adjustments to make tto the linkage. But I am moving the linkage by hand under the car and the tranny still doesnt want to engage??? I have taken the tranny through all rpms and it still doesnt engage?? It was perfect pre engine swap?? Do I need a different torque converter?? I have a turbo 400 tranny but just didnt want to install due to my untrusting purchase of this 350(which runs like a champ by the way). What can I try???

The torque converter from a t-400 and a power glide will not inter change.

A stock power glide has a smaller , coarse spline input shaft.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2008, 05:48 PM
71haulnazz's Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: buffalo,ny
Posts: 92
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I already put the torque converter in the powerglide and it fit and spun everything correctly??? Turn the torque convert byhand and the powerglide back yolk would turn no play.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 10-13-2008, 07:54 PM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Bar under the dash
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,057
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 314
Thanked 94 Times in 91 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by 71haulnazz
I already put the torque converter in the powerglide and it fit and spun everything correctly??? Turn the torque convert byhand and the powerglide back yolk would turn no play.

perhaps you missed the part of my post about the powerglide has a smaller input shaft and is a coarse spline.

the vehicle does not move because the drive hub of the turbine inside the t-400 torque converter is at best waving at the small input shaft of the powerglide.

IF your powerglide had been converted to a 'turbo spline' input shaft ... then the t-400 converter turbine hub would be transfering power to the power glide transmission.

Pull the powerglide transmission out.. look at the input shaft of the powerglide.......then install the correct torque converter for the P-Glide transmission application.

__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Torque converter question sam83k10 Transmission - Rearend 7 08-09-2007 07:23 PM
Chevy Torque Converter Swap! leejoy Transmission - Rearend 7 01-04-2007 05:55 AM
Torque converter question(s) chrisflock Transmission - Rearend 3 11-10-2006 11:41 AM
destroyed 1 torque converter hotrodjohn Transmission - Rearend 3 04-17-2005 11:23 AM
C5 or Torque Converter Bad? k2mooch Transmission - Rearend 2 11-30-2003 08:27 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:32 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.