Truck 12 bolt posi into a Monte? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Transmission - Rearend
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 08-03-2011, 05:04 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Truck 12 bolt posi into a Monte?

So heres my info I have a 77 & 76 chevy k10 truck n monte im putiing a 14 bolt on the truck my 12 bolt on the monte could this work n am I able to make it posi the car and the car is
Five lug the truck six could I change that

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 08-04-2011, 04:20 PM
ericnova72's Avatar
More for Less Racer
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: S.W. Lower Michigan
Age: 47
Posts: 9,412
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 29
Thanked 473 Times in 430 Posts
If the 12-bolt is from a truck, it will not have the upper ears cast onto the centersection for the rear upper control arms on the Monte Carlo...so it won't work.

Welding ears to the centercasting is not advisable either. Welding castings is always a crapshoot if it will hold.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2011, 12:40 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
12 bolt rear from 77 k10 to 76 monte

So ive asked this before but could I use this axle in,my monte im going,to,change,the stock suspension so could I use it havent decided what,susp but not stock maybe coils and 3link but could,i use this axle for this
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2011, 06:00 AM
TroyBoy's Avatar
Psychomotors
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: East Bonne Terre ,Missouri
Age: 49
Posts: 679
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 14
Thanked 9 Times in 8 Posts
My question is-why? Even if its the same width-(short answer) no. Having owned a 76 and a 77 for several years ago and raced them, I would say you are better off with the 10 bolt thats in it. As far as the suspension goes-why are you trying to re-invent the wheel? They have a great factory 4-link from the factory, just box the uppers and lowers. The truck 12 bolt is not actually not as strong in the pinion area as the 10 bolt. If its just a matter of better gears, put better gears in it and then you won't has a cobbled up/ rigged up rear suspension. JMHO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2011, 08:03 AM
Crosley's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: T-350 rebuild tech
Last journal entry: Morris update 9-28-2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: ... USA
Posts: 8,104
Wiki Edits: 1659

Thanks: 344
Thanked 103 Times in 99 Posts
Syn77 ... I merged your 2 threads on the same subject into one thread.

The money spent to install and modify a truck differential into car use may be better spent on a car differential to strengthen up the car differential. That way the diff bolts in and you do not need to modify suspension mounts
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies... Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 08-21-2011, 01:39 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 49
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok guys thx so posi n upgraded axleshafts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 08-22-2011, 09:33 AM
6426yy's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Macomb Il.
Age: 35
Posts: 552
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
What year is your monte? If it has a 7.5" 10 bolt I'd look for a 8.5 or go 9" ford, if your gonna throw any power to it. They do make upper control arms that allow you to install a car 12 bolt into g-body.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Transmission - Rearend posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question about buying a 3.73 posi out of an 88 Monte SS BlenderHead Transmission - Rearend 5 03-07-2011 06:03 PM
Jag IRS or 12 Bolt Posi? Ltlgto Transmission - Rearend 7 06-28-2008 08:53 AM
12 bolt posi id CHEVELLE12345 Transmission - Rearend 0 07-16-2007 09:23 PM
9.3'' 12 bolt posi hotrodder65 Transmission - Rearend 1 04-27-2007 09:31 PM
10 bolt posi waltnardo Transmission - Rearend 2 03-26-2005 05:27 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:57 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.