truck roadster idea with twist in ohio - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum

Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > General Discussion> Hotrodders' Lounge
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

LinkBack Thread Tools
Old 06-06-2006, 07:05 PM

Last journal entry: Dakota Roadster
Last photo:
Wiki Edits: 0

truck roadster idea with twist in ohio

Hello all,
I have been thinking about a truck roadster project with a twist. I don't know if this is somewhat original idea. I have little to none experience with welding and sheet metal work, this is just planning stage.

I am thinking about using a late model mini truck body like a early 90s s10 or dakota cab. Make it a convertible. The original windshield will be removed and a two piece flat windshield installed. The upper frame and windows will be removed from the doors. Move the cab towards the rear. The cab will not be narrowed. The bed will be shortened and narrowed, so that the rear wheels will be exposed. The front wheels will also be exposed and ride on a tubular arm suspension. The rear axle will come from a 1/2 full size truck so I can get the track width I want. The motor will be an 88 305 tpi with a 5 speed. The motor will also be moved rearward. I have wheels already, 17" rims with 31" tires. The most challenging parts will be the bed, windshield, hood and front suspension. This will be a fall/winter project.

Any thoughts on this?
How would I register/title and insure this?
Is this going to look horrible?
What to do for a frame? I don't want to fabricate one from scratch.
I have a couple of rudimentary sketches if anyone is interested.

If you have any links regarding anything similar, I would like to see them.

I am in northeast ohio about 45 min SE of Cleveland.

Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement