Truck won't idle...Need Help - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-28-2008, 11:12 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida for now
Posts: 105
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Truck won't idle...Need Help

Ok well just put my motor back together after replacing an intake gasket and now it won't hold idle , and I am at a loss here is the link to my thread of what's been going on

http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=226748

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 07:18 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: San Antonio, Texas
Age: 50
Posts: 4,021
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 23 Times in 23 Posts
yep, your distributor sounds like it is in the wrong position.

Pull it out, put the engine on tdc, and put it back in with the rotor pointing to the 1# position on the cap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:17 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,051
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 6
Thanked 92 Times in 78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbog42
Ok well just put my motor back together after replacing an intake gasket and now it won't hold idle , and I am at a loss here is the link to my thread of what's been going on

http://coloradok5.com/forums/showthread.php?t=226748
I read through your other thread, if your heads were shaved on the block side and the intake surfaces were not also machined, this could be your problem. Depending on how much is taken off the engine side of the heads, the intake side will need to be shaved also to compensate. Never shave the manifold, always do the heads, if you machine the intake then it wont fit a standard application if you ever want to re-use it.
I am sure one of the engine builders on here has a good easy trick for checking the mating surfaces. There is probably a way to put some marking compound on the heads and then check the transfer onto the intake.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:27 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida for now
Posts: 105
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
I read through your other thread, if your heads were shaved on the block side and the intake surfaces were not also machined, this could be your problem. Depending on how much is taken off the engine side of the heads, the intake side will need to be shaved also to compensate. Never shave the manifold, always do the heads, if you machine the intake then it wont fit a standard application if you ever want to re-use it.
I am sure one of the engine builders on here has a good easy trick for checking the mating surfaces. There is probably a way to put some marking compound on the heads and then check the transfer onto the intake.
But if that was the problem why did it go for a year without any problems, and before the edelbrock was put on it still had the stock manifold on there?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:50 AM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,051
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 6
Thanked 92 Times in 78 Posts
Have you tried putting the stock manifold back on. Perhaps it was shave to fit the heads. I dont really know if this is even close to your issue, I was just throwing out a suggestion based on your other thread. If the intake keeps leaking antifreeze with several sets of gaskets and being re-installed a few times, there is an issue somewhere. You probably also have a vacuum leak which is causing your no idle condition.
Never assume anything. You never know what someone before you has done, the fact you cant get the mainfold to seal is a good tipoff that something is wrong from an alignment respect. Tey the old manifold and see what happens

Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:52 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: oregon
Posts: 17
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
engine won't idle

i just had the same problem, my motor home wouldn't idle but would drive good otherwise.
it had a vacuum leak, seem a squirrel needed rubber and electrical wires fot a diet. i took it my mechanic and he fixed the problem.
try squirting a thin oil, WD40 etc,around the intake where it mates,if you see smoke, it is sucking air.
hope this works,good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 09:41 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida for now
Posts: 105
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by T-bucket23
Have you tried putting the stock manifold back on. Perhaps it was shave to fit the heads. I dont really know if this is even close to your issue, I was just throwing out a suggestion based on your other thread. If the intake keeps leaking antifreeze with several sets of gaskets and being re-installed a few times, there is an issue somewhere. You probably also have a vacuum leak which is causing your no idle condition.
Never assume anything. You never know what someone before you has done, the fact you cant get the mainfold to seal is a good tipoff that something is wrong from an alignment respect. Tey the old manifold and see what happens

Chet
I would, but I don't have the stock manifold anymore

The last motor was never touched, it was bone stock and I put the jasper motor in about 3 years ago in 2005 and it was fine, and a year ago, I put the edelbrock manifold on and it was good for a year until now.

Also this time with the edelbrock gaskets it has not leaked thus far
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 12:56 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,051
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 6
Thanked 92 Times in 78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbog42
I would, but I don't have the stock manifold anymore

The last motor was never touched, it was bone stock and I put the jasper motor in about 3 years ago in 2005 and it was fine, and a year ago, I put the edelbrock manifold on and it was good for a year until now.

Also this time with the edelbrock gaskets it has not leaked thus far
Hows the vacuum reading at the slowest you can get it to idle.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 01:00 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 48
Posts: 9,985
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,132
Thanked 483 Times in 361 Posts
Sound's like you have a vacuum leak some where's.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 01:00 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,051
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 6
Thanked 92 Times in 78 Posts
What carb do you have on this setup. And could you elaborate a bit more on exactly what it does. Like does it pop and die or run rough and die, what is the slowest you can get it to stay running. The more info the easier it will be to help you.

Have you double checked the firing order, and what do the plugs look like.


Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 10:08 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Florida for now
Posts: 105
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Ok Ok.....

Don't laugh too much, but for as many times as I have taken a carb on and off, especially on this truck, somehow I managed to put the carb gaskets on backwards, thus creating a very big vacuum leak at the base of the carb.

Found it by spraying carb cleaner around the manifold and carb.
BTW the manifold was sealed all the around, no vacuum leaks on it anywhere....or coolant

So flipped the gaskets around and she runs B-E-A-utiful.

Still can't believe I managed to do this...

Thanks for all the help, I really appreciate it,

Thanks again
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 02-29-2008, 10:10 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 48
Posts: 9,985
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,132
Thanked 483 Times in 361 Posts
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2008, 02:17 PM
T-bucket23's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Engine basic condition - how to check Last photo:
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Age: 56
Posts: 5,051
Wiki Edits: 26

Thanks: 6
Thanked 92 Times in 78 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mudbog42
Don't laugh too much, but for as many times as I have taken a carb on and off, especially on this truck, somehow I managed to put the carb gaskets on backwards, thus creating a very big vacuum leak at the base of the carb.

Found it by spraying carb cleaner around the manifold and carb.
BTW the manifold was sealed all the around, no vacuum leaks on it anywhere....or coolant

So flipped the gaskets around and she runs B-E-A-utiful.

Still can't believe I managed to do this...

Thanks for all the help, I really appreciate it,


Thanks again
Join the club, sometimes we just amaze ourselves.
Glad you got it running

Chet
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2008, 02:51 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Lakeland FL
Age: 65
Posts: 4,110
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
we need a "bloopers forum!"

my favorite for me is I made the slickest ever "custom" radio bezel mount so the aftermarket radio looked totally like it was OEM....

leaned back, admiring how really great it looked.....DUMB SH##...I installed the radio upside down!!!!

(was tempted to leave it that way....just for laughs)
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 03-01-2008, 03:16 PM
RippinRon's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Thornbury, Ontario
Age: 33
Posts: 948
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Easy fix! Glad you didn't end up having to replace the intake gaskets.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vacuum advance hooked up directly to manifold....is this bad????? Steve-0321 Engine 69 03-10-2014 05:10 PM
No ported vaccum port in my Q-jet, help Augusto Engine 11 12-27-2006 05:04 PM
replacement pickup truck - your advice please jojo99 Engine 3 04-28-2006 04:48 PM
little eddy-1950 chev truck lowbux Introduce Yourself 5 03-05-2006 11:47 AM
vacuum advance help batman09 Engine 14 09-09-2004 09:42 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.