Hot Rod Forum banner

trying to build a 357

2K views 8 replies 3 participants last post by  cobalt327 
#1 ·
Im new to building performance motors so i was looking for help from anyone who can give me pointers on how to get the best but not too expensive parts but i want all input on the project. I was going to build a 383 stroker but when i broke down the motor it already was bored over 40 so i guess i will stick with the 357 all input will be appreciated

#2 ·
Newbie3191 said:
Im new to building performance motors so i was looking for help from anyone who can give me pointers on how to get the best but not too expensive parts but i want all input on the project. I was going to build a 383 stroker but when i broke down the motor it already was bored over 40 so i guess i will stick with the 357 all input will be appreciated
Why not make a 385? All a "383" is is a .030" 350 block with a 3.75" stroke. All you have to do is put the 3.75" stroke crank in your .040" block. That will yield a displacement of 385ci. Summit has rotating assemblies that come balanced and include rings, bearings, rods, pistons, and crank. That is the best way to do it if you are just starting out. Consider this and let us know. Also let us know about what block you have. Like if its a 2pc or 1 pc rear main seal. Also the casting number will be helpful. It is located on the driver side bellhousing.

#3 ·
well i know it is a 70's model motor i will get the casting number though but how do you know what size crank you have i mean are there numbers or something i can find. and i already have the pistons i guess all i would need is the crank and connecting rods. would i have to get my block worked on too? and what size cam would you use my cam has the number cmc 1539. thanks for the input i will look into it

#4 ·
Newbie3191 said: