trying to put fairmont ghia digital dash in mk5 cortina - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 10-25-2011, 08:51 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: christchurch n.z
Posts: 2
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
trying to put fairmont ghia digital dash in mk5 cortina

I am trying to replace my stuffed mk 5 1980 cortina dash with a 1991 fairmont ghia digital one.
Both have rev counters as my cortina is the 2.3 V6 model it just hard trying to work out how if possible to have all the other features on the "91" dash hooked up as well such as boot and door open senses fuel level sensers and little bit annoying(hopefully not expensive) things like that.
If anyone in knows of anyone who has tried this and found that it could'nt be done can you please let me know

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 10-26-2011, 02:28 PM
vicrod's Avatar
life is a ride
 

Last journal entry: 2014
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Telford, PA
Age: 72
Posts: 1,348
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 60 Times in 56 Posts
I can only suggest that you will need the computer module and cables that were used with the dash. The gauges won't work without the drivers in the computer module.
If you have assess to the donor car obtain as many of the sensors as possible.
If possible adapt these sensors to the car.
Oil pressure and water temp. sensors would be a piping issue.
If a sensor cannot be adapted then measure it's range. For example fuel level will be a resistance difference from empty to full.
Before installing the dash try to mock up all the inputs with the correct sensor.
Door indications are a simple switched input to the module.
Also invest in a shop manual for the donor car to show the electrical schematics for all the sensors and inputs.

vicrod
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Thanks for the help with my digital dash. jvgrago Electrical 1 06-25-2008 11:53 AM
Digital Dash? Super Nova Interior 2 08-08-2005 08:10 PM
S-10 Digital Dash questions 29 2dr sedan Electrical 4 10-26-2004 01:43 PM
Corvette digital dash woody51 Electrical 2 09-18-2003 04:48 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.