TunerCATS issue with Read/Programming - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Electrical
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2011, 02:37 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: More information
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: santa monica, CA
Posts: 205
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
TunerCATS issue with Read/Programming

Hi guys,

I have been trying to get TunerCATS to work for my application. I currently have 2 1995 B-Body PCMs, and I intend on reflashing one of them so it will have an M6 F-body tune (also 1995).

However, when i patch into my PCM, i get the error:

"Invalid Response from PCM"

This happens about 3/4 of the way through reading the PCM. I am using a cable purchased from ALDL cables.

has anyone else had this issue? I have followed all the guidelines set up by TunerCATS -- grounded engine, fresh battery, all programs on computer turned off, disabled internet etc. But still no dice.

I can read the VIN number information -- so i know the cable is working. Any ideas?

The car is a 1984 Jaguar XJ6, with a 1994 Camaro Z28/T56... The harness is from a 1996 Impala SS, but the pin-outs for the OBD connector are the same...

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2011, 03:45 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 92
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Does "same pin outs" imply that the wiring is the same as well?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 02-22-2011, 04:28 PM
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: More information
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: santa monica, CA
Posts: 205
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
i traced the wires from the PCM to the wires in the OBD connector -- the obd1 connector cord only has 3 wires, as opposed to OBD2 which has a couple more.

Since I can read the VIN information, it means the cord is working, right?

Last edited by tylerwerrin; 02-22-2011 at 04:42 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Electrical posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need ECU programming in Nashville garretthes Engine 2 07-30-2008 12:29 PM
Can I get some info on programming? Slimpikins Engine 4 05-21-2008 10:11 AM
The programming of life. JunkYardFrog Off-Topic 1 01-14-2006 09:01 AM
PROGRAMMING HELP Chaz General Rodding Tech 0 04-04-2003 09:34 AM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.