Hot Rod Forum banner

Tuning 2 Demon Carbs on a Hemi

3K views 0 replies 1 participant last post by  steve392 
#1 ·
Okay, my Hemi is up and running and I'm in the process of doing some carburetor tuning. Please bear with me, I know it's a long post, but I'm trying to include all pertinent information. This is my first time tuning 2 4-bbl's with a blower on a Hemi!
For details of my engine setup, please go here:

http://www.hotrodders.com/forum/early-hemi-blower-motor-carbs-demon-edelbrock-60998.html

This is where I got the recommendation to use two 650 cfm Mighty Demon blower carbs.
Here's the setup on the carbs:
(2) Mighty Demon blower carbs #5282010BC. 650 cfm.
Main jets primary: #71, Main jets secondary #79
Power valve 6.5 primary, secondary plugged
Squirter size: 31
Idle air bleeds: .070
H.S. air bleeds .041
Idle feed restrictor: .029

Now the problem. Like some other posts I've read here, I'm having an over-rich and a fast- idle condition that I cannot seem to tune away. My basic setup before starting was per the Demon instructions: Both primary and secondary idle screws were adjusted to give the correct .020" of visible transfer slot under the butterflies. The idle mixture screws were set at 1 1/2 turns out from seated. Idle-eze screws were set 1 1/2 turns out.
I'm using a Carter electric fuel pump putting out 6 psi, and the float level in all 4 bowls is set 1/3 the way up in the sight glass, even with the bottom mark on the bowl.
I also have a wide band A/F meter hooked up. Keep in mind that this engine is currently on a test stand, so I am only preliminarily tuning for idle mix, idle speed and vacuum. I'm not able to do any road test at this time (the street rod isn't finished yet!)
The engine fires right up and goes into a very fast idle, around 1500 rpm. If I don't close down the secondary idle screws to close up the transfer slots, I start getting into the mechanical advance range of the distributor, and rpm's increase even further.