Tunnel Ram 327 - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 12:20 AM
1970CamARo(327)'s Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coloradio
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tunnel Ram 327

I am going to order a Duel Quad Tunnel Ram for my 68 SS 327 smallblock. I know what it is and how it works but what will it real do for my 327?

Its mostly a stock 350 Hp 327 (ran The numbers) so im hopeing i can get in to the 13.0s at the track. I would just like to know how and What the tunnel ram would do.

thanks for your help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	tunnel ram.jpg
Views:	405
Size:	25.0 KB
ID:	2022  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 04:41 AM
poncho62's Avatar
Out of the Loop Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Streetbeasts links
Last journal entry: at car show
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Hanover, Ontario, Canada
Age: 61
Posts: 16,777
Wiki Edits: 5

Thanks: 19
Thanked 229 Times in 189 Posts
Unless you have a "wild" cam, head work, good headers, gears etc, I wouldn't recommend it. Go with a single 4bbl, you will be further ahead........................

Depending on the body it's in, you should get into the 13s............
__________________
Ontario Rodders
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 04:49 AM
302 Z28's Avatar  
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2003
Location: North Texas
Posts: 10,810
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 81 Times in 68 Posts
That 327 will need some tall gears to work well with that tunnel ram. I also think you would be faster with a well matched single plane manifold and carb.

Vince
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 05:57 AM
1970CamARo(327)'s Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coloradio
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
My cam is a Crane Cams:Energizer
Specifications:
* Advertised duration: 278 intake/278 exhaust
* Duration at .050 in. cam lift: 222 intake/222 exhaust
* Gross valve lift: .467 in. intake/.467 in. exhaust
* Lobe separation: 110 degrees
* Basic rpm range: 2,400 to 5,400
* 9.5 to 10.75: 1 compression ratio recommended

I dont know if thats too wild i just tryed to match it to the orgianl. im also buying a 2500 stall converter.

If you think i need a biger cam that wont be a problem i can get a biger one for the tunnel ram.

My heads are the stock .202 Camel hump heads, And i have flow tech headers with a 350 trans. I think i have stock gears, but i might not because the 1970 Camaro i have should have a 12 bolt posi but its only a one leger.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 03:21 PM
Robbie's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: nova
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Macon Georgia
Age: 45
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
<--------- well like poncho said, if you dont have the right stuff i wouldnt do it. ,but if you have the money to spend on it,i say --GO for it.. Im running a tunnelram on my 350sb, It was a big headack at first..You will need good flowing heads,good cam..
The 2500 stall wont work.. I have a 3500 in mine... I had a 2600-2800 stall in mine and it wasent enoufe stall, you need to make sure your cam rpm range,your intake rpm range,and stall, all comes in close together.. because if you dont,it will sound good running,but once you hit the gas ,you will be so mad .. believe me ,been there ,done that... so do your home work on it..

Robbie
<-------check mine out
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 07:14 PM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 416
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
A tunnel ram can work better then a single 4 barrel even on a mild motor,but you need the right tunnel ram.With the combo you have,I would run a stret type tunnel ram,with no porting,and run the smallest carbs you can find.If you could fin a pair of those little 390cfm carbs,they would do well.A pair of 450 tunnel ram carbs ius as big as you can go.You will need to set the carbs up right or it will idel dead rich and foul the plugs.Choose the tallest tunnel ram possible and run the smallest carbs possible and you will make more low end torque and top end horsepower in a 2500 to 5500rpm range then any single 4 barrel on the market.In a 3500# camaro with the engine you describe you should be able to get into the 13's with a good combo,but I would plan on at least 3.73 gears with 27" tall tires and a th350 with 2500rpm stall.
I did a totally kickazz tunnel ram a few years back for a 406 that ran from 3000 to 6000 rpm,and it was worth a solid 50 hp and 40# of torque over a strip dominator and 850 carb.I took and old Edelbrock tunnel ram{TR1yx I think},that had a single 4 barrel "fishtank" plaenum on top,and I sawed off the plenum to make it about 2" high,and epoxied a flat aluminum plate on top and bolted 2,1" carb spacers to the top and added a pair of 600 double pumpers,and the combo was rediculously more repsonsive then the single 4 barrel setup.The only port work I did was a match to the heads I had.So while a single 4 barrel is easier to tune then a tunnel ram,a well tuned tunnel ram still has an edge perfromace wise.Tuning it will be tough,but if you really want it,it will be worth the effort.Good luck.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 07-08-2004, 08:57 PM
1970CamARo(327)'s Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coloradio
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I did my homework, the tunnel ram comes with two 450 hollys and the Manifold can come with these specs:

They mount either single or dual square-mount carbs and, depending on the application, have power bands that run from 2,500 rpm to as high as 9,000 rpm. Separate tops and runners are available for some manifolds.

I figure if i get one with a 2500 starting powerband that will match my cam and my stall right?

And my heads are good flowing, my cam is respectable So im hopeing it will run right, unless anyone else thinks that my set up needs more parts i would like to hear there thoughts on this, thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2004, 12:48 AM
lluciano77's Avatar
Short changed on common sense
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: california
Age: 36
Posts: 3,548
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Your car will end up slower with the tunnel ram. With stock heads etc., a single 4 bbl. carb will make more power. If you were to buy all the parts necessary to make the tunnel ram work, two fours requires constant retuning. The guys that say they don't, are the guys that have cars that are never quite in tune anyway. You will be working on your car more than you drive it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2004, 09:16 AM
Robbie's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: nova
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Macon Georgia
Age: 45
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by lluciano77
Your car will end up slower with the tunnel ram. With stock heads etc., a single 4 bbl. carb will make more power. If you were to buy all the parts necessary to make the tunnel ram work, two fours requires constant retuning. The guys that say they don't, are the guys that have cars that are never quite in tune anyway. You will be working on your car more than you drive it.
[

lluciano77, have you ever owned a tunnelram setup????.I do,and no you dont have to tune them all of the time..and what do you mean it will be slower?? I had a 750 holly,on a edelbrock rpm air gap intake, and what i have now will blow my old set up away..
I have built different types of engines,and at first ,you have to tune the carb,or carbs, to what the engines likes..
And plus 1970camaro is asking for help on putting his setup together,trying to get advise,not to have someone try to talk him out of it.. Pull up my old treads on tunnelram, I had guys like you tell me it would never work,and it want run good on the street, and i would be tunning it all the time,well guess what??
They was wrong.,I drive mine all over town.. Its how you build it.. Yes at first it requries more tuning then others. but its worth it...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2004, 07:29 PM
1970CamARo(327)'s Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coloradio
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wow Robbie

I could kiss you if i wasnt gay. i seen your 350 sb thats a dam good looking Ram you got there, i went to hotrod.com and they tested the summit combo that im going to get and said it was the overall best one to get for the money its worth. so sunday or monday ill be geting it and ill let you guys know how it turns out.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2004, 07:45 PM
lluciano77's Avatar
Short changed on common sense
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: california
Age: 36
Posts: 3,548
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Quote:
Originally posted by Robbie
[

lluciano77, have you ever owned a tunnelram setup????.I do,and no you dont have to tune them all of the time..and what do you mean it will be slower?? I had a 750 holly,on a edelbrock rpm air gap intake, and what i have now will blow my old set up away..
I have built different types of engines,and at first ,you have to tune the carb,or carbs, to what the engines likes..
And plus 1970camaro is asking for help on putting his setup together,trying to get advise,not to have someone try to talk him out of it.. Pull up my old treads on tunnelram, I had guys like you tell me it would never work,and it want run good on the street, and i would be tunning it all the time,well guess what??
They was wrong.,I drive mine all over town.. Its how you build it.. Yes at first it requries more tuning then others. but its worth it...
Yes, I have. I have owned many different carbureted setups.

If your tunnel ram will blow away your single carb setup, you didn't have it tuned right or you had the wrong carb.

I know 1970Camaro is asking for help with his tunnel ram. How do you know he doesn't want to hear if a tunnel ram would be a bad idea?

I didn't say a tunnel ram wouldn't work. I said tunnel rams won't work as well as a single carb on the street.

Did you know that you feel the most seat of your pants pull when there is a slight hesitation just before it? I bet that is what you are feeling with your tunnel ram. I bet it feels like it pulls harder.

If you want to argue that tunnel rams are more streetable than single carb setups, well you can be as ignorant as you like. Here is my theory on advice. It is better to give no advice than to give bad advice.

Running a tunnel ram with stock heads and a mild cam is bad advice!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2004, 10:39 PM
1970CamARo(327)'s Avatar
New Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Coloradio
Posts: 16
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
But .202 heads are the ****. or am i wrong? there form the 1968 power pack turbo fire 327/350 HP, or are the heads still weak?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 07-09-2004, 10:47 PM
Robbie's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: nova
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Macon Georgia
Age: 45
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I agree ,like i wrote before,he will need good heads and a good cam to run a tunnelram setup.. With stock heads and a mild cam the tunnelram want work..I never said he could use that set up on what he had.. And as far as my last engine i had with the 750 holly,the plugs color was kinda brownish color so i know i was close to it being tuned right,maybe not perfect ,but close.. and yes,a single carb set up would be a better choise..
when i first built mine,it drove me crazy at first tuning it,and i was so close in taking it off,but i stuck with it ,and it drives,and runs great...The only bad thing about running 2 carbs is,is having to take the front carb off to get to the other one when youre tuning it..
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2004, 12:22 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 188
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
tunnel-rams

I say go for it and find out for your self . I think every hot-rodder should experience the power , feel and look of the two filters sticking up through the hood . At least when we used to drive our 55s with 2 velocity stacks poking through we got the looks and dont let someone tell you a single set-up is going to out do a tunnel ram. You are going to get more power , that is why they are made . It cost more to set up ; but power cost ., it is more trouble to set up ; thats why more people dont run them . Ive run them on nearly stock engines and on highly modified engines ; you could tell a big difference on everyone . Mine were all 4 speeds and steep gears and had no trouble driving around town at all . I never had them with automatic but if you have a standard and good gears youll be amazed ; try it youll like it !

Also ; your 327 350 horse should work well if you use small carbs . You dont need to run a wild cam . Just get some more research from some of the experts and some of the drag racers to tell you what combinations to use for the track or if its mostly street . I think with your set -up the 390 Holleys would be great but the 450 might work out good too! You just have to get the right combination .

oh another thing ; I ran mostly 600 Holleys because it was all I had in those days and a weird thing I just remembered : on an Offenhauser polished aluminum intake there would be ice on the manifold ; I just thought that was kind of funny .

Last edited by musky2; 07-10-2004 at 12:22 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 07-10-2004, 11:39 AM
Robbie's Avatar
Member
 

Last journal entry: nova
Last photo:
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Macon Georgia
Age: 45
Posts: 291
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
well said Musky,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.