Tunnelram set up? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 05:13 AM
pontiac474ci blown?'s Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kapelle , The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tunnelram set up?

Hi guys,

Can i use a tunnelram with this setup?

-474ci pontiac
-Edelbrock 87cc heads (out of box).
-Harland/sharp roller rockers.
-Ohio crank 4.250".
-Eagle 6.800"rods.
-C&P pistons......10.25:1 comp.
-Crane hydrolic roller cam, .050@ int duration : 230 degr..............exh duration:238 degr.
-MSD ign part#8528.



*Pontiac GTO 1972 , TH-400...........3.08 rear gear.


Thanks,

Eddy

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 08:59 AM
S10 Racer's Avatar
http://www.warsprints.com
 

Last journal entry: W.A.R. (Wingless Auto Racing) Sprint Car Racing
Last photo:
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: At The Dirt Tracks
Age: 55
Posts: 1,881
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 59 Times in 54 Posts
I don't see why not. Is it a single carb or dual carb tunnelram?
What size carb(s) were you planning on?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 09:07 AM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 81
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tunnel vision

You left a few unanswered questions and these answers can help you receive better info from these educated gear heads.

What is the final actual compression with the 87 cc heads?

What is your tire diameter?

-How is your pride and joy going to be used 90% of the time?

-Are you going to use carbs or EFI?

Here are some things I can tell you.
-Most tunnel rams START working at 4000 rpm.
-About the time your T-ram starts making power, you will run out of camshaft.
-The camshaft you have now won't start working until you reach 45 mph IF you have a tire that is taller than 27". Now your impressive cubic inch naturally "band-aides" some mismatches, but why build wasted HP? You are in the enviable position of owning an impressive combination,
try checking with CAM HELP (comp cams) to insure the best combo.
I seriously think a rear gear change is necessary to effectively use a T-ram.

I'd like to see pictures of the end result!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 03:57 PM
pontiac474ci blown?'s Avatar
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kapelle , The Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 6
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Thanks a lot guys for the technical support!!

-My machine-shop says it has now a 10.25:1 compression.
Thats the only compression i know.
-I have 295/50R15 BF Goodrich Tires on the rear.
-I want it for street/strip use.....75/25 percent.
-i am gonna use carbs.

y112: i am think your right..........it gonna out of camshaft!
But there are also street-tunnelram's.......when they start to work?(rpm's)

But I think i have to change it , and also my rear-gear.

Shure i will send the end result on picture!

Thanks,

eddy
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 04:20 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,222
Thanked 539 Times in 399 Posts
I ran a 350 Chevy with 11.00:1,The key is not to over do it with the carbs.I was using two 600 Holley's.Had to much carbs.Went with two 450's fix the problems.You also have to get the right cam.The tunnel rams are usually good at 2500 to 4500,But some are different.hope this helps you .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 06:41 PM
Registered User
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PA
Posts: 81
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Tunnel vision

Dude,
I haven't found a tunnel-ram in Holley or Edelbrock, BUT
check out Edelbrock's P-65 dual quad set-up. The part number is #5450. It works at idle to 5500 rpm and works with the Edelbrock Performer RPM heads. You could use your cam and gear ratio, but that cam might not work real good with a stock converter. go to www.edelbrock.com and have a look. I also agree with not going big on the carbs, and Edelbrock recommends #'s 1404, 1405, 1803,1804 and 1805 that range from 500 - 650 cfm.

Get in contact with their tech department and see what they recommend.
Looking better already!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7 (permalink)  
Old 01-06-2008, 07:14 PM
NEW INTERIORS's Avatar
Believe in yourself !!!!!!
 

Last journal entry: 41 WILLYS FRAME
Last photo:
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: In My Shop..
Age: 49
Posts: 10,066
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1,222
Thanked 539 Times in 399 Posts
Just remember that 650 times two is 1300 cfm.Most engine run very good around 750 cfm's.so the 450's will put you at 900 cfm's. I have never had any luck right off Idle with a tunnel ram,And less you have a nice stall.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:33 AM
AmericanPackMule's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Adolessent J.R.
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Calif
Age: 71
Posts: 151
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
T-Ram...

If it fits use it ~ Performance increese? a little; @ 4,000 ~ 8,000 R.P.M.( Unless you are going from 1, 4 bbl, Carb to 2, 4 bbl Carbs.) But it is an attension getter!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:05 AM
lg1969's Avatar
Google "Tunnel Ram 406"
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Bohemia, L.I.N.Y.
Age: 64
Posts: 1,054
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 1
Thanked 21 Times in 18 Posts
You guys are still questioning if Tunnel Ram can run on the streets. I can tell you this YES.
I have a 69 Chevelle ever since my mother bought it brand new. I have own the Chevelle for 38 years and still enjoy driving it all over the Island.
Out of the 38 years of use, I had my Tunnel Ram setup for 25 years.
It is seating on a 10.5 :1 compression 355cid with 2.02 heads, Crain fireball Cam, 1.6 roller rockers, with gear drive. The carbs I am using are modified Holley 390CFM. They converted from single feed to dual feed setup with metering block for my secondary from a 780CFM Holley. They are mounted sideways on a Edelbrock Street Tunnel Ram.
The jets are 57 for primaries and 62 for the secondaries, and 6.5 power valve.
I use a blue pump cam on number 2 setting.
With this setup I even passed emission test before the law was change to safety inspection.
Now I got a 11:1 400cid SBC with AFR heads, Comp cam 270H the same 1.6 roller rockers and yes, gear drive. My 355 had so much low end torque, I can pull tree stumps. And now with the 400 I can pull a house. : ) The Chevelle pulls so hard you will need a neck brace. Top end it will make your hair stand. The 400 is coupled to a 350 Turbo Hydro with 3000 stall converter with a shift kit, and a 12 bolts 4:10 gears for the rear end. As you can see, my Tunnel Ram Setup does work with no problem. Install the tunnel ran and enjoy the Fun.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:27 AM
Nite Life's Avatar
I just wanna go fast.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Selah, WA
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
I have a Larry Wenzler TR intake on my Formula. It seems to do fine. I have dual 600 Hollys and it does run rich, but spark plugs are cheap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #11 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 10:29 AM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Where the Rubber meets the Road
Posts: 32
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
With a tight torque converter and a 3.08 rear gear I would not run a Tunnel Ram. The engine isn't going to accelerate as well as it would with a dual plenum intake manifold. You might be able to get a low profile dual quad to work with your combination, but with the gearing and (assuming) stock converter it wouldn't be recommended.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #12 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 01:30 PM
WDCreech's Avatar
Grumpy Old Goat Herder
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Age: 70
Posts: 1,316
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 3
Thanked 29 Times in 27 Posts
pontiac474,

As far as I know, there is only a couple of t-ram manifolds available for the Pontiac engine. The original Wenzler t-ram can still be ordered from Wenzler. http://www.wenzlerengineering.com/ I think that this manifold would have too large of runners for street use, but the old Warrior, if you can find one, I think, would work good on the street, or you copuld get a single carb Victor, either for a square bore or for a Dominator.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #13 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 04:56 PM
Nite Life's Avatar
I just wanna go fast.
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Selah, WA
Posts: 23
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
here is a wenzler

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #14 (permalink)  
Old 01-07-2008, 05:15 PM
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Age: 67
Posts: 828
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 27
Thanked 21 Times in 19 Posts
The old "standard" formula for carb flow, assuming 100% efficiency, would indicate a requirement for about 825 CFM at 6000 RPM. But, assuming you idle at about 750, you're going to be pulling about double the airflow at idle that an otherwise stock 350, idling at 500RPM, might. So, where a 350 might need 4000 to get something from the TR, your displacement (assuming, again, similar port length and volume) you'd need considerably less. On the other hand, there's little doubt that your cam would like a higher-than-stock stall converter. Particularly loading the motor up as you will with the 3.08s. So, Yeah, I think two 450s along with a 3000 RPM stall converter should do OK.

Pat
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #15 (permalink)  
Old 01-08-2008, 05:10 AM
AmericanPackMule's Avatar
Registered User
 

Last journal entry: Adolessent J.R.
Last photo:
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Los Angeles, Calif
Age: 71
Posts: 151
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Wanted: Tunnel Ram ~ S. B. C. For friend!

My buddy is building a 350 S.B. Chev. ~ Ford & Chev.? Were are on real good terms...
Chev is My Second Choice. I Can't Change Now! Too Many Spare, Ford Parts.

Last edited by AmericanPackMule; 01-08-2008 at 05:12 AM. Reason: Clearify.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What should my timing be set at? chevyelc81 Engine 1 08-06-2004 04:11 PM
Holley choke set screw lluciano77 Engine 11 08-05-2004 10:20 PM
Where to get a set of Unilug washers and nuts to fit? Dubz Hotrodding Basics 1 07-06-2004 07:33 AM
Starting different after timing set? frankenvette Engine 1 06-30-2004 09:49 PM
never set up a dual point, looking for help! HotRodF100 Engine 11 02-19-2002 02:44 PM


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.