Turbo on 3.8 Cutlass?? - Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board
Hotrodders.com -- Hot Rod Forum



Register FAQ Search Today's Posts Unanswered Posts Auto Escrow Insurance Auto Loans
Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board > Tech Help> Engine
User Name
Password
lost password?   |   register now

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
  #1 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2003, 07:31 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post Turbo on 3.8 Cutlass??

My 85 cutlass only has a v6 231 3.8L in it now. Buick Grand nationals also had 3.8L. Although those cars came with turbochargers on them. Would it be possible for me to take a turbo from a GN and bolt it on to my cutlass? If so how easy would it be. Also would this be a better choice then putting a V8 into it. Thanks for the input.

    Advertisement
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2003, 08:51 AM
BOBCRMAN@aol.com's Avatar
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Holly, michigan
Posts: 8,083
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 23
Thanked 257 Times in 241 Posts
Post

if you had a complete,similar year, turbo Buick the swap would be just a parts change but it gets more complicated with different computers and induction systems. Small block chevys are bolt ins with the correct frame mount.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3 (permalink)  
Old 05-24-2003, 10:19 PM
Nos's Avatar
Nos Nos is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

id just drop a blown oldmobile 455 big block.. for about $2000-$3000 ... almost the same as a superchager/turbo-charger maybe a little faster .. i think that wouldd be better .. well thats my 2 cents

Nos
__________________
N|O|S
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2003, 05:51 AM
TurboS10's Avatar
Hotrodders.com Moderator
 
Last wiki edit: Auto Terms and Definitions Used in Modern Engine T... Last photo:
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Texas
Age: 36
Posts: 3,463
Wiki Edits: 2

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

I gotta agree with Bob. If you want to do the swap, you want to get the entire engine and ecu. It can certainly be done without, but the complicaiton level goes out of site. Tuning efi to run with a turbocharger when it was not designed to do so is very tricky and usually requires an upgraded unit. The factory buicks also came with a knock sensor setup which is a big plus. Good luck.

Chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2003, 06:57 AM
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 229
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

Yea i kinda like the idea about the 455!! But do u think i would be better off putting a SBC in it like a 350. If so how much do u think it would cost to pick up a decent one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6 (permalink)  
Old 05-25-2003, 11:11 AM
Nos's Avatar
Nos Nos is offline
Member
 
Last photo:
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 202
Wiki Edits: 0

Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Post

you can buy a used 350 out of the classifieds.. for about $300-$400 and rebuild it for like $200-$300 more for a kit i think? not sure may cost more or less for the kit..
or you can go to

www.summitracing.com and get a complete engine already built

here is a compltet 350 with 410 horsepower www.jegs.com/cgi-bin/ncommerce3/ProductDisplay?prrfnbr=4241&prmenbr=361


hers another page with a rebuild kit
<a href="http://store.summitracing.com/default.asp?target=search.asp&type=bykeyword&searc htype=both&part=350+rebuild+kit]http://store.summitracing.com/default.asp?target=search.asp&typ e=bykeyword&searchtype=both&part=350+rebuild+kit[/URL]

i got my 350 for $300 and took it to a machine shop had them bore it 0.060 over new pistons.. there building me heads.. they hottaked my blocked polished my crank.. new oil pump .. cleand my intake.. everything on my engine except my crank is going to be new it will cost me about $1500 to get it running SWEET! i need to get a new cam.. but it should be pushin 450+ hosepower.. my engine will be like its brandspankin new!

but its also about how much money your willing to spend!

hope this helps...

Nos

[ May 25, 2003: Message edited by: Nos ]

[ May 25, 2003: Message edited by: Nos ]</p>
__________________
N|O|S
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Recent Engine posts with photos

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Hot Rod Forum : Hotrodders Bulletin Board forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name (usually not your first and last name), your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.




Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 PL2
Copyright Hotrodders.com 1999 - 2012. All Rights Reserved.